2014 SA Sports Awards nominees announced | TeamSA - TeamSA

2014 SA Sports Awards nominees announced


The nominees for the 2014 South African Sports Awards were announced at SABC 1 Studios in Auckland Park, Johannesburg on Wednesday, 15 October.

The SA Sports Awards are a partnership between the Department of Sport and Recreation, SASCOC and the SABC and feature 17 categories of sporting excellence.

The winners will be announced at a gala dinner at the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg on 30 November 2014.

The full list of categories and nominations are:


Administrator of The Year

Karen Losch

Mr Daan du Toit

Mrs Nokuzola Patience Thamae


Sportsman of The Year

Chad Le Clos

Greg Minnaar

Khotso Mokoena

Cornel Fredericks


Sportsman of The Year with Disability

Lucas Sithole

Ernst Van Dyk

Pieter du Preez


Sportswoman of The Year

Sunette Viljoen

Mpho Madi

Ashleigh Moolman Pasio


Sportswoman of The Year with Disability

Justine Asher

Kgothatso Montjane

Adri Visser


Team of The Year

Springbok 7s

Lawn Bowls

Under-19 Cricket

Newcomer of The Year

Wayde van Niekerk

Gezelle Magerman

Rivaldo Coetzee


Coach of The Year

Shakes Mashaba

Graham Hill

Neil Powell


Volunteer of The Year

Beryl Campbell

Selwyn Jackson

Sandile Mqadi


Indigenous Games of The Year

Nthonga – Kwa Zulu Natal

Drie Stokkies – North West

Ncuva – Limpopo


Recreational Body


Park Run

Sport for Social Change Network


Photographer of The Year

Reg Caldecott

Duif du Toit

Frennie Shivambu


Journalist of The Year

Udo Carelse

Mathews Mpete

Duane Dell’oca


Sports Star of The Year

Ernst van Dyk

Chad le Clos

Portia Modise

Khotso Mokoena

Duane Vermeulen

AB de Villiers


School Team of The Year

Vorentoe High School

Harmony High School

Paarl Gymnasium


Developing School Team of The Year


Fulton School For Deaf Triathlon Team

Oudtshoorn School of skills


Federation of the Year

Triathlon South Africa

Rowing South Africa

Swimming South Africa