Blitzboks drawn against France, Argentina, Japan for Hong Kong | TeamSA - TeamSA

Blitzboks drawn against France, Argentina, Japan for Hong Kong

After finishing third in their last two tournaments, South Africa’s Blitzboks rugby sevens side can go back to the drawing board ahead of their next tournament, the ever-popular Hong Kong Sevens, at the end of next month.
Coach Neil Powell’s men are up against France, Argentina and Japan in Pool C for the Hong Kong leg, and have played both Japan and France in recent tournaments.
The Springbok Sevens finished third at the USA Sevens over the weekend and they are therefore top seeds in their pool. South Africa lost out to England in the quarter-finals of last year’s HK tournament but went on to win the Plate Final against Wales.
The South African squad arrives back in the country on Wednesday and the players will have a few days off after playing in two tournaments in New Zealand and the United States before assembling again on 26 February at their base camp in Stellenbosch.
After their second Cup win of the season in Las Vegas, Fiji are top seeds and head Pool A, while runners-up New Zealand, South Africa and the fourth semi-finalist USA lead the remaining pools. Fiji were drawn in Pool A alongside Canada, Samoa and Belgium, the only non-core side in the event.
Las Vegas runners-up and defending Hong Kong Sevens champions New Zealand will play Australia, Scotland and Portugal in Pool B. The USA  will fight it out against England, Kenya and Wales in Pool D.
The top four teams on the final World Series points table in May will qualify directly for the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, and the Springbok Sevens will therefore look to consolidate their position on top of the current log with a good performance in the Far East.
Meanwhile, Blitzbok flyer Seabelo Senatla increased his tally as the World Series’ leading try scorer to 30 after he scored six more tries in Las Vegas. His try-scoring exploits have also moved him up to second spot (150 points) on the overall World Series points scorers list behind Fijian Osea Ramodi Kolinisau (202), with fellow Springbok Sevens ace Branco du Preez third on (145).