Evans is ASA President | TeamSA - TeamSA

Evans is ASA President

Western Province’s James Evans is the new Athletics South Africa president after receiving the most votes during the elections held in Kempton Park on Saturday.

Evans was voted in at a special general meeting after former President, Leonard Chuene and Vice-President Kakata Maponyane were found guilty on a number of charges and banned by Olympic governing body SASCOC due to the Caster Semenya gender debacle.

Evans was one of nine candidates for the top spot and received 25 of the 54 votes to win the race for ASA President. The other candidates included James Mokoka (AGN), Motlatsi Keikabile (ANWN), Harold Adams (BOLA), James Moloi (CGA), Hendrick Ramaala (CGA), Aleck Skhosana (KZNA), Tshifiwa Makhoshi (LIMA) and William Mokatsanyane (SASA).

ÔÇ£There was a lively debate before the elections.┬á It was a long and difficult process, but we can move forward now,ÔÇØ said Evans after the being elected.

At the same time, Motlatsi Keikabile (Athletics North West) was elected as the new vice-president of ASA. She received 26 votes. The other candidates in the running were Godfrey Goliath (Eastern Province Athletics), William Mokatsanyane (South African Schools Athletics Committee), Micheal Mbabane (Eastern Province Athletics), and Glen Bentley (University Sport South Africa Athletics).

Hendrick Ramaala (CGA), Aleck Skhosana (KZNA), James Moloi (Central Gauteng Athletics) and Geraldine Pillay withdrew their names.  Harold Adams (Boland Athletics) was withdrawn by the nominator.

The elections were held under supervision of SASCOC and the Department of Sport and Recreation as independent bodies. Parties that voted were the provinces (2 votes each), 7 associates (1 vote each), 4 commissions (1 vote per member) and the board (1 vote each). Voting took place by means of ballot.