Four SA riders are ready to roll in TDF | TeamSA - TeamSA

Four SA riders are ready to roll in TDF

With three days before the 2015 Tour de France gets underway in the Netherlands, Cycling South Africa president William Newman has wished the four South African participants all speed.
Following on from the ground breaking achievements of national cycling hero, Robbie Hunter who became the first South African rider to participate in the Tour de France in 2001, the 2015 edition of the TDF will see a healthy SA representation.
Cycling SA is very proud of the selection of Daryl Impey (Orica-GreenEdge), Jacques Janse van Rensburg, Louis Meintjes (above) and Reinardt Janse van Rensburg (all MTN Qhubeka) on their selection for the Tour.
Said Newman, said: ‘I’d like to congratulate all these riders on their selection to participate in the most prestigious event in World cycling. They have worked exceptionally hard and have been rewarded for their efforts.
‘We can assure them that the whole nation will be behind them as they tackle this gruelling race. I also congratulate Douglas Ryder and his team for pursuing a dream, which they have now achieved and are making South Africa proud.’
The Tour de France has been one of firsts for South Africa, with Hunter being the first SA rider to win a stage at the prestigious event in 2007 followed by Impey showing his class by being the first SA competitor to wear the coveted yellow jersey in 2013.
Another talented South African to compete in the gruelling event was John-Lee Augustyn, in 2008.
They have paved the way for the country’s young riders now to come on board and show what they are capable of.
This year we enjoy another first with Team MTN-Qhubeka being the first South African and African team to participate in the Tour which ends in Paris after 21 gruelling stages.