Impey and Moolman Pasio take TT titles again | TeamSA - TeamSA

Impey and Moolman Pasio take TT titles again

Olympians Daryl Impey and Ashleigh Moolman Pasio both successfully defended their time trial championships at the Pennypinchers national road chamionships in Mbombela, Mpumalanga on Thursday.
For Impey it was a case of repeating a feat that he has achieved over a number of years and the 30 year-old felt that he was right on top of his game when he set out early in the morning on what would be a commanding ride.
‘I started really well this morning and I managed to take some time off the guys quite early on,’ the Orica-GreenEDGE rider stated. ‘That good start gave me a lot of confidence going into the final couple of laps and I kept powering through to the finish and I’m just really happy to have retained my winners jersey!’
Being based in Australia means that Impey does not spend a lot of time racing in South Africa so gauging the competition is always something that he is wary of and does not quite know where his competition is when he comes up against them.
‘I know that Reinhardt (Janse van Rensburg) has been going well but I haven’t raced against him in a while so I wasn’t too sure how I was shape up but with that said I think I raced really well and everything just seemed to go right for me which I am really happy about.
‘I think having raced already this year it gave me a bit of an advantage and I felt good out on the course in some pretty good conditions this morning,’ he added.
Runner-up in the men’s time trial Janse van Rensburg was happy with his performance and felt that he did everything he could out on a tough circuit.
‘I am satisfied with my second place although I didn’t produce anything special which was a little disappointing but with that said Daryl was in a league of his own out there, I couldn’t match him!
‘The circuit was quite tough but I really enjoyed it because it was pretty technical and although I didn’t manage to win the race I am still pretty happy with my result and I am just looking forward to the Road Race this weekend!’ a content Van Rensburg mentioned.
The women’s race lost it’s competitive edge slightly when Lauren Dance pulled out prior to the race but it was always going to be a case of catching Moolman Pasio who was too strong for the field and powered her way to another South African national championship.
‘I was the last off today which meant that the plan was to chase down the riders in front of me but with Lauren withdrawing it meant that Heidi (Dalton) was the closest rider too me and she was two minutes away,’ the champion said. ‘I pushed really hard from the beginning and when I knew that I had a substantial lead it was a case of maintaining and it is just really special to win my third time trial in a row!’
Conditions were a little different for the women who went off after the men so it was a little warmer for them but Moolman Pasio was not worried about the heat and she felt that it was something that could give her an edge.
‘I have been training up here in Mpumalanga recently and so I have become quite used to the conditions and I think the heat is actually an advantage for me, it is something that I am used to.
‘I have had a really nice block of training recently so I went into the event feeling good and it all worked out really well for me,’ she added.
The Under-23 men’s TT was another focus of the day and it was Morné van Niekerk who claimed the win in that category from Nicholas Dlamini by just under two minutes. Gregory deVink was the fastest in the Junior Men’s category after narrowly edging out Jarrod Hattingh.
The only other women’s race on Thusday was the Junior Women’s race which was won by Frankie du Toit who beat off Lynette Benson and Anje Gerber for the top step of the podium.
Road to Rio 2016’s Mark Etheridge reports that Du Toit, part of Team South Africa at last year’s African Youth Games in Gaborone, Botswana, has come on in leaps and bounds.
After the road race in Botswana, Du Toit shed some tears after what she saw as a disappointing race. Very harsh on herself as she was still feeling her way into road cycling from a mountain bike background, the only tears on Thursday would have been of joy.
‘It was super hot! And it was a tough course, a few uphills and some tight corners, but it was a very good race,’ she said. ‘I felt really good and I’m super chuffed with the win! Unfortunately I can’t be awarded the jersey because we only had seven girls race and the rules state that you have to have eight to get awarded the jersey.
‘My time was 34min 02sec and Lynette was second,’ said the Time Freight Ladies Team rider, who now turns her attention to the road race.
The Veteran ladies also tackled the technical Time Trial course on Thursday with Adele Janse van Vuuren taking the honours in the Ladies 40-44 age category and Monica Glover was the strongest rider in the Women’s 45-49 bracket.

Picture of Moolman Pasio riding to victory, courtesy of Craig Dutton

Day Three Results

Elite Men
1 Daryl Impey 53min 23sec
2 Reinardt Janse van Rensburg 00:55:14
3 Louis Meintjies 00:55:29

Elite Women
1 Ashleigh Moolman Pasio 00:46:31
2 Cherise Stander 00:47:37
3 Heidi Dalton 00:48:49

Under-23 Men
1 Morne van Niekerk 00:55:45
2 Nicholas Dlamini 00:57:02
3 Gustav Basson 00:57:07

Junior Men
1 Gregory deVink 00:44:46
2 Jarrod Hattingh 00:45:00
3 Aiden van Niekerk 00:45:24

Junior Women
1 Frankie du Toit 00:34:02
2 Lynette Benson 00:35:04
3 Anja Gerber 00:37:20

Veteran Ladies 40-44
1 Adele Jansen van Vuuren 00:35:18
2 Elisa Maria Gianchino 00:36:32
3 Nadia Visser 00:37:52

Veteran Ladies 45-49
1 Monica Glover 00:35:41
2 Yvette Negrine 00:37:16
3 Judith Kerr 00:37:48

Under-16 Girls
1 Tiffany Keep 01:52:34
2 Azulde Britz 01:52:39
3 Ashleigh Parsons 01:52:41

Under-14 Boys
1 Alvin Gillespie Bronkhorst 01:44:35
2 Ernest Botha 01:44:42
3 Paul Hirsinger 01:44:48

Under-14 Girls
1 Simone Faber 01:10:11
2 Sarah Ryan 01:10:12
3 Kelsey Jade Van Schoor

Under-12 Boys
1 Callum Osborne 01:06:47
2 Nicholas van Rooyen 01:06:48
3 Wildo du Toit 01:11:36

Under-12 Girls
1 Chante Oliver 00:41:57
2 Tayla Nortje 00:51:17
3 Georgia Robyn-Anne Dungan 01:00:33

Under-10 Boys
1 Shaun Wolfaardt 00:44:27
2 Francois Jacobus De Jager 00:44:34
3 Thomas Williams: 00:53:46

Under-10 Girls
1 Kita Uys 00:56:06
2 Anischka Neethling 00:56:20
3 Chanica Botes 01:01:49