Impey joins SA team for Road World Championships | TeamSA - TeamSA

Impey joins SA team for Road World Championships

Recently cleared of doping charges, Daryl Impey will represent South Africa at the 2014 UCI Road World Championships taking place in Ponferrada, Spain, starting on Sunday.
Impey’s inclusion has not been at the expense of any rider on the national team. However, Jay Thomson, who was scheduled to race in the Time Trial, will no longer be competing. Both Thomson and Impey opted not to race the Time Trial as they felt they had not spent enough time on the time trial specific bike in the lead up to Worlds. Impey will focus on the road race.
Also in the team are members of Team South Africa at the Commonwealth Games earlier this year (Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio, An-Li Kachelhoffer and Heidi Dalton) as well as junior Ivan Venter who was recently in China for the Youth Olympics.
And Graeme Ockhuis, Michelle Benson and Catherine Colyn all did duty for SA at the African Youth Games in Botswana four months ago.
Ex professional cyclist and South African Champion, Robert Hunter, will also be in attendance and will assist with the team manager duties. Hunter’s expertise in the professional cycling environment will be of a great advantage to the South African team.
Cycling South Africa extends a huge thank you to Team MTN-Qhubeka team principal, Douglas Ryder, and his team for the services of their bus driver and their mechanic for the World Championships. Team MTN-Qhubeka is based in Italy and the use of their infrastructure is a valuable resource for the national team in Spain.
The bulk of the national team will depart from South Africa on Friday morning, 19 September. They will join the rest of their national teammates in Spain.

The full team that will represent South Africa at the 2014 UCI Road World Championships is as follows:

Elite Men: Daryl Impey, Reinhardt Janse van Rensburg, Jacques Janse van Rensburg

Under-23: Louis Meintjes, Jayde Julius, Kevin Patten, Willie Smit

Elite Women:
Ashleigh Moolman Pasio, An-Li Kachelhoffer, Heidi Dalton

Junior Men: Gustav Basson, Ivan Venter, Graeme Ockhuis, Stefan de Bod (Non Traveling Reserve)

Junior Women: Monique Gerber, Michelle Benson, Catherine Colyn

Management: Bosseau Boshoff, Robert Hunter, Megan Earl