Roberts wins overall title in Durban | TeamSA - TeamSA

Roberts wins overall title in Durban

The recent National Omnium Championships and Durban Track Cycling Grand Prix delivered some good spectator-oriented racing at the Cyril Goeghan Stadium.

Despite the low entry totals in some of the categories, the weekend had more than its share of excitement. With the 2010 Elite Omnium title-holder Evan Carstens, having to withdraw from the champs due to an accident, the championships were wide open with some good performances displayed by Boyd Roberts, Martin van Wyk, Jeanne Nel and Craig Symons, to name but a few.

The Junior category saw some of the juniors recently back from the Junior World Track Champs (Shane Pheiffer, Kellan Gouveris and Jac-Johan Steyn) providing each other with some stiff competition in the quest for top honours.

The Grand Prix also gave a number of the veterans and Under-16s a chance to compete against one another, with some exciting new talent among the women in the form of Nicole Van Der Merwe rising to the fore. Val Scheppel, Sue Taverner (Ladies), Ryan Felgate and Jevandr├® Pauls (Under-16s) displayed some good racing, as well as from Neville Ackerman and Andrew Immelman in the Veterans’ category.

Overall, the Elite Omnium Championship was awarded to Boyd Roberts (WP) and the Junior honours went to Kellan Gouveris (EP).