SA end 2015 IPC World Champs campaign with three medals | TeamSA - TeamSA

SA end 2015 IPC World Champs campaign with three medals

The South African swimming team ended the 2015 IPC Swimming World Championships in Glasgow, Scotland, bringing home a total of three medals (gold and two bronze), five African records, one championship record and 11 Paralympic qualification times.
Kevin Paul won SA’s only gold medal in the SB9 100m breaststroke while posting a new Championship Record time of 1:04.50. Earlier on in the competition, Paul also broke the African Record in the S10 50m freestyle in 25.40 and has Paralympic Qualification times in the SB9 100m breaststroke; alongside Johann van Heerden, as well as the SM10 200m individual medley.
Hendri Herbst was a happy man with his two bronze medals in the S11 50 and 100m freestyle events, while his African record came in the S11 100m backstroke with a new time of 1:14.81. Herbst finished each of those events in Paralympic Qualification times.
Paul, Achmat Hassiem, Hendrik van der Merwe and James Bezuidenhout added the 4x100m medley relay African Record to the team’s tally in 4:52.15, while Hassiem posted a Paralympic Qualification time in his S10 100m butterfly race.
On the women’s side, Adri Visser was over the moon with her African Record and Paralympic Qualification time in the S5 50m butterfly, before acquiring the 200m individual medley African record on Sunday’s final night of competition.
Emily Gray will bring home two Paralympic Qualification times in the S9 100m backstroke and the 400m freestyle, with Beth Nothling rounding off the tally with a Paralympic Qualification time in the S5 50m backstroke.
Sunday saw Visser finished 13th in the S5 100m freestyle with a time of 1:50.26, while in the SM9 200m individual medley Gray ended 18th in 3:02.96 and Challis Wright came 21st in the S14 100m backstroke, clocking 1:12.03.
Swimming South Africa’s CEO, Shaun Adriaanse, commended the team for achieving their Championship objective of posting Paralympic Qualification times. ‘With 11 qualification times, they have accomplished that task. In the process they also garnered a gold and two bronze medals and are well on their way to Rio, spearheaded by Kevin Paul and Hendri Herbst.’ concluded Adriaanse.

The South African team were proudly sponsored by Sport and Recreation South Africa, National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund, Nedbank, SASOL and 361º.

Final Paralympic Qualifying Times:
Hendri Herbst (S11) – 50 and 100m freestyle and 100m backstroke (Heats)
Beth Nothling (S5) – 50m backstroke
Emily Gray (S9) – 100m backstroke and 400m freestyle
Kevin Paul  – 200m individual medley (SM10) and 100m breaststroke (SB9)
Johann van Heerden (SB9) – 100m breaststroke
Achmat Hassiem (S10) – 100m butterfly
Adri Visser (S5) – 50m butterfly

Back home and the SA National Short Course Championships wound up in Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal, also on Sunday.
Sixtheen-year-old Erin Gallagher continued to shine, winning three gold medals on the final night of the competition.
In the 50m freestyle, Gallagher was quick off the blocks with a time of 25.40 to Lehesta Kemp’s 25.78 and Jamie Reynolds’s 26.19.
The Durban teenager followed that win by claiming gold in the 100m butterfly in 1:00.24 as well as the 200m freestyle in 1:59.49. Rene Warnes finished second in both events, while the bronze in the 100m butterfly went to Vanessa Mohr and the 200m freestyle to Marlies Ross.
Ross,17 was not content with the bronze and went on to win the 200m individual medley, clocking 2:17.12, over a second ahead of Jolandi Els in 2:18.10 and Savanna Best in 2:18.34.
In the 200m backstroke, Nathania van Niekerk (16) led from start to finish and won the gold in 2:11.07, ahead of Sule van der Merwe in 2:18.16 and Jessica Beukes in 2:19.25. Van Niekerk also claimed a silver medal in the 50m backstroke in 29.40, behind Jamie Reynolds (29.38) and ahead of Tayla Lovemore (29.99)
Kaylene Corbett bagged the 100m breaststroke title in 1:09.16, while Emily Visagie took the silver in 1:10.41 and Savanna Best won her second bronze of the night in 1:10.70.
On the men’s side, Brad Tandy concluded the championships with a gold medal in the 50m freestyle and silver in the 50m breaststroke.
Tandy won the 50m freestyle event in 21.75 to Douglas Erasmus’ 22.38 and Reynard Wessels’ 22.41, while his silver performance in the 50m breaststroke was with a time of 28.07 behind Jarred Crous in 27.95 and ahead of Cheyne Fisher in 28.08.
In the 50m backstroke, 25.25 was the time Marno Langeveldt needed to take the gold, with Neil de Villiers in second in 25.49 and Zane Waddell third in 25.91.
Gold was the order of the day for Neil Fair, Daniel Ronaldson and Martin Binedell in the 200m individual medley, 200m butterfly and 200m backstroke, winning their races in 2:03.35, 1:58.90 and 1:59.84 respectively.
The grueling 1500m freestyle race was won by Josh Dannhauser in 15:33.72, followed by Daniel Marais in 16:19.45 and Dante Nortje in 16:54.00.
In the relay events, TUKS’ Mohr, Ross, Tove van Zyl and Camryn Wheals succeeded in winning the 4 x 100m medley with a time of 4:18.28, while the TUKS men’s team of Crous, De Villiers, Erasmus and Van der Merwe won their 4x100m medley race in 3:41.72.
In the multi-disability events, Alani Ferreira (S1-13) wrapped up the competition with an additional two gold medals in the 100m freestyle in 1:11.11 and 200m individual medley in 2:50.37, while Maritza Snyder claimed the gold in the S14-15 100m freestyle in 1:17.29.
Aaron Putz (S14-15) added the 100m freestyle (1:00.72) and 200m individual medley in (2:27.30) gold medals to his tally, with Garth Willmore (S1-13) winning the 100m freestyle in 1:11.69.

By Ma