SA's seventh spot qualifies them for 2016 Aloha Cup | TeamSA - TeamSA

SA’s seventh spot qualifies them for 2016 Aloha Cup

The South African junior surfing team placed seventh out of the 36 national teams at the 2015 VISSLA ISA World Junior Surfing Championship which ended on Sunday in Oceanside, California.
The hosts, USA, won the coveted ISA World Junior Team Trophy for the first time since the ISA junior worlds were inaugurated as a stand-alone event in Durban in 2002. The winners accumulated 7 536 points from the results of their 12-person team, well ahead of runners-up France with 6 565.
Defending team champions Hawaii clinched the bronze medal this year followed by Australia, Japan, Portugal, South Africa and Costa Rica. The top eight teams in the final standings qualify for the Aloha Cup tag-team event at the next edition of the event in the Azores in September 2016.
Italy’s Leonardo Fioravanti won the Boys’ Under-18 division, earning a perfect 10 point ride in the final and then adding a near-perfect 9.23 for the highest heat total of the entire event – 19.23 out of 20.
France’s Tessa Thyssen took the gold medal in the Girls’ U18’s, USA’s Stevie Pittman prevailed in the Boys’ U16 final and Hawaii’s Summer Macedo clinched the Girls’ U16 title.
Team captain Shane Sykes (Salt Rock) was SA’s top performer, advancing to the Main Event semi-finals before dropping in the Repercharge Rounds where he was eventually eliminated in ninth place overall in the division.
Sebastian Williams (Jeffreys Bay) finished 13th in the U16 boys, Teal Hogg (Umhlanga) ended 25th on the U18 girls and Olivia Izzard (La Lucia) also claimed 25th place in the U16 girls.
The Aloha Cup squad made up of Richard Kidd (Ballito), Joshe Faulkner (Jeffreys Bay), Chanelle Botha (Warner Beach), Ntando Msibi (Durban) and Michael Monk (East London) placed fourth in their semi-final and equal seventh overall in the tag-team event.
The SA team were a presence on the beach throughout the eight day event, vociferously supporting their team mates by blowing vuvuzelas, waving flags, whistling and cheering.
The team was well managed by Isaac February (Kommetjie) and coached by Greg Emslie (East London) and David Malherbe (Coffee Bay).

Picture of Msibi courtesy of ISO/Sean Evans

Final Results
Boys U18
Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA), Gold Medal; Nommé Mignot (FRA) Silver Medal; Jake Marshall (USA), Bronze Medal; Shun Murakami (JPN), Copper Medal

SA results
9 Shane Sykes (Salt Rock)
17 Ntando Msibi (Durban)
49 Richard Kidd (Ballito)
49 Michael Monk (East London)

Girls U18
Tessa Thyssen (FRA), Gold Medal; Tia Blanco (USA), Silver Medal; Frankie Harrer (USA), Bronze Medal; Mahina Maeda (HAW), Copper Medal

SA results
25 Teal Hogg (Umhlanga)
33 Chanelle Botha (Warner Beach)

Boys U16

Stevie Pittman (USA), Gold Medal; Reef Heazlewood (AUS), Silver Medal; Marco Mignot (FRA), Bronze Medal; John Mel (USA), Copper Medal

SA results
13 Sebastian Williams (Jeffreys Bay)
21 Luke Malherbe (East London)
25 Adin Masencamp (Strand)
29 Joshe Faulkner (Jeffreys Bay)

Girls U16

Summer Macedo (HAW), Gold Medal; Macy Callaghan (AUS), Silver Medal; Brisa Hennessey (HAW), Bronze Medal; Teresa Bonvalot (POR), Copper Medal

SA results
25 Olivia Izzard (La Lucia)
33 Sophie Bell (Umdloti)

Final Team Standings:
1 USA – Winner of the ISA World Junior Team Champion Trophy, 2  France – Team Silver Medal, 3  Hawaii – Team Bronze Medal, 4  Australia – Team Copper Medal, 5  Japan, 6  Portugal, 7  South Africa, 8  Costa Rica, 9  Peru, 10  Tahiti, 11  Great Britain, 12  Brazil, 13  Barbados, 14  Argentina, 15  New Zealand, 16  Mexico, 17  Chile, 18  Ecuador, 19  Nicaragua, 20  Puerto Rico, 21  Belgium, 22  Wales, 23. Panama, 24. Canada, 25. Israel, 26. Germany, 27. Italy, 28. Colombia, 29. Norway, 30. Russia, 31. El Salvador, 32. Denmark, 33. Uruguay, 34. Venezuela, 35. Jamaica, 35. Austria