Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Benedict, Lindsay bank SA titles

Mafikeng-based Coolboy Ngamole and Zimbabwean Samukeliso Moyo may be smiling all the way to the bank, but its Benedict Moeng and Lindsay van Aswegen who are the national champions following the SA Marathon Championships held in Durban on Saturday.

After the halfway mark, Ngamole was, like the event funder in the National Lotteries Distribution Trust Fund, a good bet for success and the 33-year-old Nedbank club runner didn’t disappoint in mastering the windy conditions to be first man home in 2 hours 16 minutes 19 sec to collect the R20┬á000 winner’s cheque.

But the SA Marathon Championships is about bringing pride to those running in provincial colours, and Moeng in the colours of Gauteng North finished second in 2:18.03 to be crowned SA champion.

ÔÇ£I am delighted to be SA champion,ÔÇØ said Moeng, whose effort was faster than his previous career best time of 2:19.37.
ÔÇ£I was concerned that I may have been short of training mileage to be able to run a career best. But I am just happy to get the title.ÔÇØ

First-man-home Ngamole said afterwards: ÔÇ£The leading bunch were quite slow over the first 21.1km because we were running into a strong head wind, but with 19km to go on the way back to Durban, I moved away from the group and used the wind ÔÇô now a tailwind ÔÇô to my advantage. It was great to win again after taking the national title three years ago.ÔÇØ

Doctor Mtsweni from Mpumalanga finished after Moeng in 2:19.09, with Ngamole’s club-mate David Ngakane running bravely during the first half of the race, and eventually ending fourth in 2:19.38.

In the women’s senior race, Moyo, who clocked 2:48.56, recorded back-to-back wins after being first woman home at last year’s SA Marathon Championships held in Durban. Her trip to the bank to deposit her R20┬á000 first prize cheque will be just as thrilling.

But the day belonged to Kempton Park-based banker Van Aswegen ÔÇô who finished eighth in this year’s Comrades Marathon.

ÔÇ£The wind was very strong out there but I ran even split times over the halves of the course, and managed to catch and pass Gladys Lukhwareni to move through to second in the race and take the SA title,ÔÇØ said Van Aswegen, who finished in 3:00.30.


Senior Men:

1 Coolboy Ngamole (NedCGA) 2:16.19
2 Benedict Moeng (AGN)                                 2:18.03
3 Doctor Mtsweni (AMPU)                                2:19.09
4 David Ngakane (NedCGA)                            2:19.38
5 Butiki Jantjies (CGA)                                      2:19.45
6 Seun Moleshoia (AMPU)                                2:20.03
7 William Mokwalakwala (CGA)                       2:20.09
8 Enos Matalane (AGN)                                    2:20.14
9 Vincent Seng (CGA)                                       2:20.41
10 Ludwig Mamabolo (CGA)                               2:21.53

Senior Women:
1 Samuekliso Moyo (MPKZN)                          2:48.56
2 Lindsay van Aswegen (CGA)                         3:00.30
3 Gladys Lukhwareni (AGN)                             3:01.47
4 Catherine Skosana (AGN)                             3:02.43
5 Thobile Ngwane (MPKZN)                             3:11.10
6 Alison Jordaan (ASWD)                                 3:11.35
7 Jane Mudau (AGN)                                        3:11.54
8 Mirriam Mooki (AGN)                                     3:16.04
9 Sarah Mahlangu (CGA)                                  3:16.53
10 Annatjie Botes (ASWD)                                 3:19.19