Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Bolt in line for more honours

Three-time sprint world champion Usain Bolt of Jamaica is one of five men vying for the prestigous World Athlete of the Year award from the ruling body IAAF.

Bolt, winner of the award last year, lowered his own world records in the 100 and 200 metres to 9.58 and 19.19 seconds, respectively, en route to world titles in Berlin in August and also was part of the Jamaican gold medal team in the 4x100m.

The IAAF list issued Monday also includes Ethiopian double long distance world champion Kenenisa Bekele, American sprinter Tyson Gay, Norwegian world javelin champion Andreas Thorkildsen and Steven Hooker of Australia, who became the second best pole vaulter ever with 6.06m in February and then won the world title despite injury.

The winner of the poll conducted among the IAAF family, the media and fans will be announced on November 22 at the World Athletics Gala.

The IAAF plan to release the women’s shortlist on Tuesday.