Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

KZN Raiders win again

Reigning champions, the KZN Coastal Raiders retained their title at the SA Men’s Inter Provincial Hockey Tournament when they beat Gauteng North 2-1 in the final at Port Elizabeth.

The half-time score was 1-1 with the early goals coming from penalty corners by the Raiders’ Gareth Carr with Justin Reid-Ross replying for the Blues.

SA Hockey World’s Jonathan Cook reports that Tim Drummond put Raiders 2-1 in front after 16 second-half minutes following a pass from Michael Botha and that was the only goal of the second half.

Tayla Western Province and Kaspersky Southern Gauteng played in the bronze medal match, and the 2007/08 title winners from Cape Town won 1-0 with national captain Austin Smith scoring the goal in the early minutes.

The play-off for fifth and sixth place was a titanic struggle between hosts Eastern Province and KZN Inland.

The Pietermaritzburg-based team led 2-1 at half-time but the red and blacks were spurred on by their vociferous crowd support and it ended 4-4 at the final whistle. But KZN Inland held their nerve in the penalty stroke shootout and converted all five while EP missed two for an eventual 9-7 victory.

The seventh-and-eighth position play-off in the top eight A Section, which is also effectively the relegation match, was won 8-7 by Western Province Peninsula against a dejected Border, who had won promotion the previous year. Border had held a 2-1 lead before Pens fought back to 3-3 and then won the shootout 5-4.

The B Section final, which also serves as the A Section promotion match saw favourites Witwatersrand and KZN Mynahs dish up an exciting encounter, the spoils going to Wits 3-1 in the end and they replace Border for the annual event next year.


A Section ÔÇô final: KZN Raiders 2 Northerns Blues 1; (3/4) Western Province 1 Southern Gauteng 0; (5/6) KZN Inland (4) 9 Eastern Province (4) 7; (7/8) WP Peninsula (3) 8 Border (3) 7

B Section ÔÇô final: Witwatersrand 3 KZN Mynahs 1; (3/4) EP Settlers 4 North West 3; (5/6) Free State 6 SA Country Districts 0; (7/8) Northern Cape (3) 7 KZN Inland B (3) 6; (9/10) Southern Cape 3 Mpumalanga 1