Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Ekurhuleni duo ease into top 32 AT SA Amateur Championships

A pair 14-year-olds from Ekurhuleni punched well above their weight to reach the top 32 in the match play stage of the Sanlam SA Amateur Championship at Durban Country Club on Tuesday.

Reigning English Boys Under-14 champion Casey Jarvis vanquished Siyanda Mwandla from Mount Edgecombe 5 & 4, while fellow GolfRSA National Squad member Yurav Premlall dispatched Nicholaus Frade at the 21st hole.

Jarvis, who tied for seventh in the 36-hole qualifier, was virtually flawless with a lone bogey and two birdies on his card.

‘I was really good off the tee and never put myself in any real trouble,’ he said. ‘I positioned myself well and kept a clean card, although I had to adjust the way I played, because the wind blew from the opposite direction today.’

Jarvis will face last year’s Proudfoot Trophy winner Chris Woollam in the second round. ‘Chris also had a good 5 & 4 result in the first round and he’ll have the home course advantage. I’ll stick to my own game and try to put some pressure on him.’

Premlall was 2-up with two to play, but the match went into over-time after Frade squared the match with back-to-back birdies. ‘It was a very demanding 21 holes against a great opponent,’ said Premlall (pictured below).

‘I had a bit of a mishap at 18. Nic hit a great 2-iron in at 18 and I hit my 2-iron into the bush. I had to take a penalty and he chipped it close, so I gave it to him.

‘We both made pars on 19th hole and both dropped at 20. At the 21st hole, Nic went with the 2-iron again, a bit left. I was hitting the 2-iron badly in warm-up and never should have hit it on 18, so I went with my 3-wood and landed just right. I laid up to 66 metres and he was just three metres ahead of me. That has been my favourite distance for a while now and I hit it to eight feet. Nic hit his approach just outside mine, but he missed the putt and I made mine.

‘It was great fun and such a good contest. I’m really pleased to have made it through. I’m playing Christiaan Burke in the second round and it should be another great game.’

After winning the English Amateur Stroke Play Qualifier, Englishman David Langley was knocked out in the first round last year.

Determined not to have a repeat performance after lifting the Proudfoot Trophy on Monday, the Berkshire golfer was equally pleased to make the top 32 after he downed Gregg Gilson 3 & 2.

‘I’m relieved, actually, because the English Amateur was there in the back of my mind,’ admitted Langley. ‘I feel like I broke the curse and I’m really psyched for next round.’

The Castle Royle golfer will battle South Africa’s top-ranked junior Jayden Schaper, who defeated Keelan van Wyk 3 & 1.

‘The first two days were long and mentally draining, given the weather, but even with the wind blowing today, I felt a lot more confident out there,’ said Schaper. ‘I was able to play to my strengths and put pressure on Keelan, and I putted well. I expect a tough match against David, because he has been extremely solid, but if I can make a few birdies early on, I have every chance of going through.’

South Africa’s top-ranked Wilco Nienaber, and KwaZulu-Natal trio Matt Saulez, Malcolm Mitchell and Clayton Mansfield – respectively ranked second, third and fifth – all crossed the first hurdle, as did Ernie Els and Fancourt Foundation members Deon Germishuys, Aneurin Gounden, Luca Filippi and Keegan Mclachlan, who beat India’s Kartik Sharma 1-up.

The Scottish national squad team had their numbers whittled to four players after John Paterson took out team-mate Sam Locke 3 & 1. And another Scot will fall on Wednesday when Paterson starts the second round against compatriot Darren Howie.

Other round one casualties included reigning Reply Italian U-16 champion Martin Vorster, who was mowed down by Simbithi Country Club golfer Matthew Hands, and top ranked Yashas Chandra from India, who was taken out by Jack Gaunt from England on the 19th hole.

Round One results
All players SA unless otherwise specified: David Langley GBR beat Gregg Gilson 3 & 2;
David Langley ENG beat Gregg Gilson 3 & 2;
Jayden Schaper beat Keelan van Wyk 3 & 1;
Kyle de Beer beat Tyron Davidowitz 2Up;
Malcolm Mitchell beat Judd Sundelson 5 & 3;
Darren Howie SCO beat Herman du Plessis 21st hole;
John Paterson SCO beat Sam Locke SCO 3 & 1;
Matt Saulez beat Alan Lones 5 & 4;
Stals Swart beat Barend Botha 1Up;
Jordan Prytz beat Therion Nel 1Up;
Wilco Nienaber beat Luke Mayo 3 & 2;
Casey Jarvis beat Siyanda Mwandla 5 & 4;
Chris Woollam beat Liam Cloete 5 & 4;
Matthew Hands beat Martin Vorster 5 & 4;
Theunie Bezuidenhout beat Christiaan Maas 21st hole;
Aneurin Gounden beat Keagan Thomas 5 & 4;
Keegan Mclachlan beat Kartik Sharma IND 1Up;
Calum Fyfe SCO beat Varun Parikh IND 2 & 1;
Neal Woernhard SUI beat Jordan Burnand 3 & 2;
Jack Gaunt ENG beat Yashas Chandra IND 19th hole;
Deon Germishuys beat Callum Mackay GBR 4 & 2;
Byron Coetzee beat Jason Broomhead 19th hole;
Clayton Mansfield beat Andrew Wilson ENG 6 & 5;
Luan Boshoff beat Karabo Mokoena 4 & 2;
Loris Schuepbach SUI beat Ryan van Velzen 2 & 1;
Otto van Buynder beat Erhard Lambrechts 2 & 1;
Christo Lamprecht Jnr beat Crismar Engelbrecht 4 & 3;
Euan Walker SCO beat Cameron Moralee 2Up;
Jeremy Freiburghaus SUI beat Steven le Roux 3 & 2;
Luca Filippi beat Bradley de Beer 4 & 2;
Gregory Mckay beat Cole Stevens 1Up;
Christiaan Burke beat Daniel van Seumeren 2 & 1;
Yurav Premlall beat Nicholaus Frade 21st hole