Ellis names Banyana squad for Sweden matches | TeamSA - TeamSA

Ellis names Banyana squad for Sweden matches


Desiree Ellis, interim head coach of the Sasol-sponsored Banyana Banyana national women’s side, has named a squad of 26 players to face Sweden in two matches.

Ellis has called up the bulk of the team which played at the 2017 COSAFA Women’s Championship held in Zimbabwe in September last year, and mixed it up with several overseas-based players who haven’t been in the squad for a while.

These include the USA-based quartet of Kaylin Swart, Jermaine Seoposenwe, Amogelang Motau and Kelso Peskin.

The former Banyana Banyana captain has also rewarded players who participated in the end-of-the year 2017 Sasol League National Championship staged in Nelspruit early in December – like Yonelo Keto (Thunderbirds), Kgaelebane Mohlakoana and Melinda Kgadiete (both Bloemfontein Celtic), Neliswa Luthuli and Sduduzo Dlamini (both Sunflower FC)

Ellis has also recalled midfielder Amanda Dlamini after a long absence from the national team.

Banyana Banyana will assemble for camp on 14 January.

The first clash between South Africa and Sweden is a practice match, which will take place on Thursday, 18 January, and will take place behind closed doors at a venue still to be announced.

The second encounter is an international friendly, and this will take place at the Cape Town Stadium on Sunday, 21 January.

Kick-off is at 2pm and this will be the third time the two nations meet.

The first clash took place in 2012 at the London Olympic Games – Sweden won the match 4-1. Their last meeting was also at the Olympic Games – in 2016 in Brazil, where South Africa lost 1-0.

Sweden are currently ranked 10th in the world and 5fifth in Europe, while South Africa are 54th and fifth in the world and on the African continent respectively.

Banyana squad to face Sweden:
Goalkeepers: Andile Dlamini, Yolula Tsawe, Kaylin Swart
Defenders: Nothando Vilakazi, Noko Matlou, Janine van Wyk, Babanani Mbane, Lebohang Ramalepe, Regina Mogolola, Yanele Nhlapo, Yonelo Keto
Midfielders: Leandra Smeda, Refiloe Jane, Amanda Dlamini, Kholosa Biyana, Kgaelebane Mohlakoana, Amogelang Motau, Rachel Sebati, Neliswa Luthuli, Nompumelelo Nyandeni
Forwards: Melinda Kgadiete, Thembi Kgatlana, Kelso Peskin, Jermaine Seoposenwe, Chantelle Esau, Sduduzo Dlamini

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *