Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Final cricket and netball teams for Commonwealth Games

The final teams for women’s cricket and netball have been named to represent Team SA at the 2022 Commonwealth Games to be held in Birmingham from 28 July to 8 August.

Sune Luus captains a 15-strong women’s T20 team, with Chloe Tryon the vice-captain. It is an experienced group and includes Marizanne Kapp, widely regarded as the world’s leading all-round women’s cricketer. There are also two wicketkeepers in the final 15, Trisha Chetty and Sinalo Jafta.

Team SA’s netballers are captained by the experienced Bongi Msomi and they also have a strong squad of 12 that will be competing for the medals. 

Team SA are in Group A at the Games, alongside Australia, Jamaica, Scotland, Wales and Barbados. Group B consists of New Zealand, England, Malawi, Uganda, Trinidad & Tobago and Northern Ireland. 

The top two countries from each group will qualify for the netball semi-finals, which will be held on 6 August, with the medals matches on 7 August.

Women’s cricket is making its debut at the Commonwealth Games and will be in a T20 format. The men previously played a 50-overs format at the 1998 Games in Kuala Lumpur, where South Africa won the gold medal, beating Australia in the final.

Team SA’s women are in Group B where their opponents are New Zealand, England and Sri Lanka. The women open their campaign on 30 July with a match against New Zealand, followed by games against England (2 August) and Sri Lanka (4 August), at Edgbaston. 

The top two countries from the group will progress to the semi-finals. Group A consists of Australia, India, Pakistan and Barbados. The semi-finals will be staged on 6 August with the medal matches on 7 August.

South Africa are ranked No 5 in the world in the women’s T20 format, with Australia at No 1, followed by England (No 2), New Zealand (No 3) and India (No 4). They will warm up for the Commonwealth Games with a three-match T20 series against England from 21-25 July.

Women: Anneke Bosch, Trisha Chetty, Nadine de Klerk, Lara Goodall, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Maria Masabata Klaas, Sune Luus (c), Nonkululeko Mlaba, Tumi Sekhukhune, Shabnim Ismail, Chloe Tryon, Mignon van der Merwe (Du Preez), Laura Wolvaardt

Women: Khanyisa Chawane, Izette Griesel, Phumza Maweni, Tshinakaho Mdau, Bongiwe Msomi, Lenize Potgieter, Lefebre Rademan, Nicola Smith, Elmere van der Berg, Shadine van der Merwe, Ine-Mari Venter, Zanele Vimbela