Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Fourth IPC gold for Natalie

Natalie du Toit made it medal number six for Team South Africa at Wednesday’s IPC swimming world championships in Eindhoven, Netherlands.
Our Paralympics ace won the 400-metre freestyle final (S9 category), touching the wall in 4min 30.64sec to add a fifth medal to her trophy cabinet at this championships. She now has four golds and a bronze to show for her troubles. The other SA medallist in the championships is Kevin Paul with a silver medal.
Du Toit was the only medallist on Wednesday with nine SA swimmers involved in finals. Two swimmers, Bouwer and Emily Gray missed podium places by just one position.
Bouwer was fourth in the 50m freestyle final (S13) but his 24.87sec finish was still a personal best. Gray also had the satisfaction of a personal best with her fourth placed finish in the 400m freestyle final, the same race won by Du Toit. She clocked 4:52.45.
Challis Wright, who set an SA record in the 100m breaststroke (S14) semi-final on Tuesday, ended fifth in the final on Wednesday.
There were also personal bests for Shireen Sapiro, Marike Naude and Sarah Shannon.
Du Toit will be one of nine South Africans in heats action on Thursday and be looking to add to her medal tally.
Results from Wednesday’s finals:┬á
Natalie du Toit    (S9)     400m freestyle       4.30,64                   1st
Emily Gray         (S9)     400m freestyle       4.52.45 (PB)            4th
Achmat Hassiem (S10) 400m freestyle       4:27.38                     7th
Shireen Sapiro    (S10)  400m freestyle       5:03.90 (PB)            7th
Charl Bouwer     (S13)   50m freestyle          24.87 (PB)               4th
Marike Naude     (S13)   50m freestyle          33.18 (PB)              8th
Sarah Shannon  (S3)     100m freestyle        2:51.52 (PB)            7th
Craig Groenewald (S14) 100m breaststroke  1:14.41                   6th
Challis Wright    (S14)    100m breaststroke   1:12.25                   5th
Swimmers competing in Thursday’s heats
Adri Visser (SB4) – 100m breaststroke
Natalie du Toit (S9) – 50m freestyle
Kevin Paul (S10) – 50m freestyle
Sean Clarke (S10) – 50m freestyle
Shireen Sapiro (S10) – 50m freestyle
Hendri Herbst (S12) – 400m freestyle
Charl Bouwer (S13) – 400m freestyle
Beth Nothling (S5) – 200m freestyle
Adri Visser (S5) – 200m freestyle