Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

More glory for Potgieter


Johann Potgieter (Red Bull Von Zipper) maintained his impressive form when he won the final leg of the MTN National Mountain Bike Downhill Cup event at Klapperkop, Pretoria on Sunday.

The Cape Town rider clocked a time of 1min 53.38sec on his first of two runs down the technical descent and followed that up with a second run of 1:54.31, giving him the two fastest times of the day and overall victory.

He also gained maximum points to collect the 2009 MTN National Downhill Series title, giving him a rare double, after his victory in the national championships in George in March.

Despite the absence of a few top riders, Potgieter didn’t have things his own way as Wesley Augustyn, brother of top road pro, John Lee (currently riding the Giro d’Italia), had two quick runs, his second of 1:54.54 being his quickest, giving him the runner-up place.

Alex Bramley, Pierre van der Merwe (Fox Morewood) and Louis-Bresler Knipe rounded out the top five, with Van der Merwe claiming the Junior victory. Van der Merwe also ‘did the double’, adding the Series title to his national title.

No women competed, giving Pietermaritzburg’s Victoria Phillips the Series win.

MTN National Cup Downhill Series
Round 5, Klapperkop, Pretoria
Leading results:
1 Johann Potgieter (Red Bull Von Zipper) 1:53.38
2 Wesley Augustyn 1:54.54
3 Alex Bramley 1:57.26
4 Pierre van der Merwe 1:58.15
5 Louis-Bresler Knipe 1:59.02
6 Ryno Fourie 1:59.15
7 Timothy Bentley 2:03.23
8 Tiaan Odendaal 2:04.15
9 Dirk van Schalkwyk 2:04.25
10 Thomas Rood 2:06.13

Elite men
1 Johann Potgieter (Red Bull Von Zipper) 1:53.38
2 Wesley Augustyn 1:54.54
3 Alex Bramley 1:57.26

Junior men
1 Pierre van der Merwe 1:58.15
2 Timothy Bentley 2:03.23
3 Simon Dinkelman 2:07.08

Youth men
1 Tiaan Odendaal 2:04.15
2 Alasdair Fey 2:12.26
3 Matthew Wortman 2:18.21

Sub-junior boys
1 Alan Hatherly 2:23.54
2 Peter Bentley 2:50.49
3 Luke Evans 2:52.11

Sub-veteran men
1 James Morland 2:22.50
2 Norman Hatherly 2:33.34
3 Conrad Davies 2:51.52