Strong squad for Kenya

World 800 metres champion Mbulaeni Mulaudzi, Olympic 3000 metres steeplechase finalist Ruben Ramolefi, Commonwealth champions Sunette Viljoen (javelin) and Elizna Naude (discus), as well as rising sprint star Simon... Read more

World 800 metres champion Mbulaeni Mulaudzi, Olympic 3000 metres steeplechase finalist Ruben Ramolefi, Commonwealth champions Sunette Viljoen (javelin) and Elizna Naude (discus), as well as rising sprint star Simon Magakwe are part of a 56-strong SA squad named by Athletics South Africa (ASA) in preparation for the CAA African Senior Championships

The championships will take place  in Nairobi, Kenya from 28 July-1 August.

Fresh from clearing a career best 5.50 metres in the pole vault at the Yellow Pages SA Youth and Junior Championships in Germiston at the weekend, Cheyne Rahme has been included, along with 1500m star Juan van Deventer, 5000 and 10┬á000m talent Stephen Mokoka and one of the most-improved athletes of the local season – 400m hurdler Cornel Fredericks.

Among the women, Mapaseka Makanya and Lebogang Phalula will be in search of medals in the 800m, while Phalula’s twin sister Lebo, will join Rene Kalmer in 1500 and 5000m action.

Hammer throwers in African record-holder Chris Harmse (with a season best of 75.36)┬á and George-based SA schools, junior and senior national champion Annemie Smith (with a 2010 furthest throw of 57.13), are also on the national selectors’ list.

In congratulating the athletes on their selection to the national squad, ASA administrator Ray Mali said: ÔÇ£To assist the athletes in their final preparation ahead of the African athletics showpiece in Nairobi, ASA will endeavour to organise competition opportunities in the six weeks leading up to July 6, on which date the final team will be announced.ÔÇØ

ÔÇ£Athletes not listed on the national squad announced today, can still qualify for the CAA Africa Senior Championships provided that they meet the selection criteria during the ‘window period’ in June and July,ÔÇØ added Mali.

Hezekiel Sepeng, the Olympic 800 metres star of the 1990s, joined ASA this week to assist on athletes’ support structures and will play an important role in passing on advice to athletes and their coaches, during the build up period over the next two months and a half months prior to the final team announcement.

The full squad

Simon Magakwe (ACNW), Leigh Julius (EPA), Hannes Dreyer (AGN), all 100m, Wilhelm van der Vyver (Boland), Simon Magakwe (ACNW), Thuso Mpuang (AFS), all 200m, Ofentse Mogawane (WNWN), Sibusiso Sisi (CGA), Mbulaeni Mulaudzi (CGA), both 400m, Juan van Deventer (CGA), Parson Mangagane (Lima), both 1500m, Elroy Galant (ACNW), Tshamano Setone (CGA), Stephen Mokoka (AGN), Gladwin Mzazi (AVT, Lugisa Mdedelwa (ATRA), all 10,000m, Hendrik Ramaal (CGA) marathon, Rubin Ramolefi (CGA), Edwin Molepo (ACNW) 3000m SC), Andre Storm (ACNW) 110m hurdles, Cornel Fredericks (Boland), Wouter le Roux (AGN), LJ van Zyl (AGN) 400m, all 400m hurdles, Thuso Mpuang, Leigh Julius, Simon Magakwe, Wilhelm van der Vyver, Hannes Dreyer all 4x100m, Sors Joubers (Boland) decathlon, Cheyne Rahme (AGN), Ruaan van Wyk (WPA) both pole vault, Khotso Mokoena (AGN), Keenan Watson and Luvo Maniyonga (Boland) all long jump, Thumelo Thagane (ACNW) triple jump, Roelie Potgieter (AGN), Burger Lambrechts (AGN), Orazio Cremona (AGN) all shot put, Victor Hogan (Boland) discus, Chris Harmse (AFS) hammer, Hardus Pienaar (AGN), Ulrich Damon (ACNW) and Tobie Holtzhausen (ACNW) all javelin

Cindy Stewart (EPA) 100m/200m, Estie Wittstock (AGN) 200m, Mapaseka Makhanya (CGA), Lebogang Phalula (CGA), both 800m, Rene Kalmer (CGA), Lebo Phalula (CGA) both 1500m, Kalmer and Lebo Phalula, both 500m, Tebogo Masehla (CGA) and Myrette Filmater (AGN) both 3000m SC, Wenda Theron (AGN) 400m hurdles, Janet Wienand (Boland) heptathlon, Marcoleen Pretorius (ACNW) high jump, Deone Joubert and Honorata Saar (both pole vault), Patience Ntsingila (ACNW) triple jump, Elizna Naude (AGN) discus, Annemie Smith (SWDA) hammer, Sunette Viljoen (ACNW, Justine Robbeson (ACNW), Tazmin Britz (ACNW) all javelin

Qualifiying standards for the African Championships in Nairobi, 28 July to 1 August
Men         Women

10.35sec — 11.58sec
20.75 — 24.10
46.10 — 53.10
1:46.60 — 2:04.50
3:39.50 — 4:15.00
13:32.50 — 15:40.00
28:32.30 — 32:21.0
8:36.50 — 10:09.14
110m/100 hurdles
13.88 — 13.60
400m hurdles
49.95 — 57.10
High jump
2.20m — 1.80m
Long jump
7.85m — 6.30m
Triple jump
16.50m — 13.00
Pole vault
5.00m — 3.60m
Shot put
17.80m — 15.58m
56.00m — 49.55m
69.50m — 56.20m
71.50m — 53.73m
7250 points — 4732 points
20km race walking
1hr 24.62min — 1:45.50

Article written by