Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

SA’s Youth Olympics squad

SASCOC president Mr Gideon Sam on Wednesday confirmed a South African squad of 63 athletes to compete at the inaugural Singapore 2010 Youth Olympics.

The squad will be accompanied by 28 officials, with Mr Dave Carr the Chef de Mission and Mr Leon Fleiser as the Project Manager.

The Youth Olympics, a cultural event as much as it will be one of sporting excellence, will be held between August 14 and 26th.

South Africa’s squad representation will compete in 14 of the 26 sports and culture and education programmes.

Sam, in naming the squad, spoke of the core Olympic values of Excellence, Friendship and Respect and said those fortunate enough to be selected would also be richer for the experience and wealthier for friendships made within the squad and among athletes from other nations.

Over 500 fulltime Singaporean staff have worked for the past two and a half years with 1000 government assigned staff and 20 000 volunteers to an event that will host 3 600 athletes between 14 and 18 years of age and 1400 officials from 205 National Olympic Committees.

Organisers are expecting 1200 media representatives and anticipate 400 000 spectators will attend the two week youth carnival.

‘The numbers speak for themselves,’ said Sam. ‘This is a massive opportunity and should be the starting point for those with greater ambitions of competing at future senior Olympic Games.’

The squad leaves South Africa on August 9.

For more information on the Youth Games, go to

The full squad is:

Athletics: Maryke Brits (long jump), Valentina Da Rocha (triple jump), Kayla Gilbert (100-metre hurdles), Thato Makhafola (1000m), Simone Meyer (discus), Izelle Neuhoff (400m), Schalk Burger (400m hurdles), Migael Celliers (pole vault), Willem du Plessis (discus), Ruan Greyling (400m), Dylan Jacobs (javelin), Stiaan Minnie (hammer), Siphelo Ngqabaza (200m), Rudolf Pienaar (long jump), Frans Schutte (shot put). Officials – Elinda Vorster, Andre Sinclair

Aquatics: Oneida Cooper (100m backstroke/200m Individual Medley), Natasha de Vos (200m backstroke/400m freestyle), Kyla Ferreira (100m freestyle/200m freestyle), Taryn Anne Mackenzie (200m breaststroke/50m breaststroke), Dylan Bosch (200m IM), Pierre Keune (100m freestyle), Chad le Clos (100m butterfly/200m butterfly/200m IM/200m freestle/400m freestyle), Murray McDougall (100m backstroke/50m butterfly). Officials — Graham Hill, Melanie Wagner.

Basketball: Nkosinathi Festile, Duke Lazarus, Tshegofatso Modise, Justin Paton. Official — Zithulele Nxumalo

Canoeing: Kerry Segal, Luke Stowman. Official — Michael Jack Chiazzari

Cycling: Jayde Julius (road), Lunga Mkhize (BMX), Teagan O’Keeffe (BMX), Luke Roberts (MTB). Official: Elton Davids

Equestrian: Samantha McIntosh. Official: Chad Cunningham

Fencing: Wanda Matshaya. Official: Randall Daniels

Gymnastics: Claudia Cummins (artistic), Reinhard Huisamen (trampoline), Lolanthea Louw (trampoline), Ryan Patterson (artistic), Aimee van Rooyen (rhythmic). Officials: Ilse Laing (artistic), Chris van der Walt (trampoline), Maureen van Rooyen (rhythmic)

Hockey: Keisha Arnolds, Stephanie Baxter, Quanita Bobbs, Jenna-Leigh Du Preez, Kirsty Gibbings, Sarah Ive, Tiffany Jones, Jacinta Jubb, Bronwyn Kretzmann, Phumelela Mbande, Zimisele Shange, Hlubikazi Sipamla, Charne van Biljon, Toni-Leigh Van Niekerk, Marlene Wessels, Sinethema Zungu. Officials: Robert Pullen, Belinda Scott

Rowing: Juliet Donaldson, Akane Makume. Official: Browyn Jackson

Triathlon: Wian Sullwald. Official: Richard Woolrich

Weightlifting: John Ramela: Official: Aveenash Pandoo

Wrestling: Leonard Gregory, Andries Schutte. Official: Christo Lottering

Medical: Kevin Subban (Chief Medical Officer), Merike Saayman (Chief Practioner), Rannoa Ntseke (physio), Shantal Edwards (physio), Marlene Naicker (physio)

General team management: Dave Carr (chef de mission), Leon Fleiser (project manager), Chantelle Jardim (athlete services), Vicky Hlatshwayo (logistics), Clifford Cobers (logistics), Devon van der Merwe (young ambassador)