Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

ASA in control again

The recently elected Athletics South Africa (ASA) Board is again the custodian of the sport, said South African Sport Confederation and Olympic Committee (Sascoc) CEO Tubby Reddy.

SASCOC has controlled the administration of ASA since the suspension a year ago of ASA President Leonard Chuene, the Board of ASA and three senior staffers.

Chuene and his colleagues were suspended because of the manner in which ASA handled the gender debacle surrounding South Africa’s 800 metres World Champion Caster Semenya.

Chuene, vice-president Kakata Maponyane and Simon Dlamini are also being investigated for alleged misadministration of ASA.

SASCOC Board member Ray Mali has headed ASA’s administration as an interim measure in the past year, but Reddy, in a statement, said the national governing body had officially handed back the administration of the sport to those elected by ASA members on 18 September 2010, to serve as the Board of ASA.

‘It is a complete handover,’ said Reddy. ‘Ray Mali (SASCOC) will continue to be involved with ASA until the conclusion of the investigation against the previous president (Chuene) and those implicated in the investigation, but the administration of the sport will again be the responsibility of ASA’s Board, headed by James Evans.’

Reddy said SASCOC expected a conclusion to the Chuene matter by the end of November and that the outcome would have no impact on the new Board.

‘SASCOC recognizes the Board elected in September as the custodians of ASA and the next Board election will be in 2012,’ said Reddy. ‘SASCOC also wants to express its thanks to Ray Mali for his efforts this past year in difficult circumstances.’

Four South African athletes were elected to the ASA Board in September and they include: Kwazulu-Natal’s Blanche Moila to chair cross country, Aleck Skhosana will chair national road running, Western Province’s James Evans will chair Track and Field and Gauteng’s Geraldine Pillay will be the South African athletes’ chairperson.

Hendrick Ramaala and Arnaud Malherbe, both from Central Gauteng Athletics, are additional members. Motlatsi Keikabile and Pieter Lourens make up the eight member Board of ASA.

‘The International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) have been informed and are comfortable with SASCOC’s decision,’ said Reddy.