Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

SA’s Commonwealth team

A powerful squad of 115 athletes has been announced to represent South Africa at the 19th Commonwealth Games in New Delhi, India between 3-14 October this year.

South Africa’s Olympic governing body, SASCOC, made the team announcement at Olympic House in Johannesburg on Wednesday, 21 July. A final amendment to the team is scheduled for 25 August when names of the track and field and Sevens rugby representatives will be made known as well as in swimming. Other possible inclusions are para-powerlifting and para-athletics.

This will be the fifth occasion that South Africa has been represented at the Commonwealth Games since re-joining the Commonwealth in 1994 after a break of 33 years during the international sports isolation period.

Speaking at the announcement, SASCOC president Gideon Sam wished the team well and urged them to give of their very best. “The message to the team remains. All we have to do is to improve on our fifth position at the last Commonwealth Games in Melbourne, Australia four years ago and equal or improve our medals tally.

“This will be an excellent test of whether our policy of ‘only the best’ will show results. We have included team sports that will make the size of the team look big, but it will still be a far cry from the big team that represented us in Melbourne.”

The South African team of 2006 was one of the largest in Melbourne.

“The performance of this team will also give us an indication of how well we are doing on the road to the London Olympics in 2012. We expect good performances from both the swimmers and the track and field athletes with good contributions from the bowls team as well,” said Sam.

A total of 17 sports will be contested at the Games: Archery, Aquatics, Athletics, Badminton, Boxing, Cycling, Gymnastics, Hockey, Lawn Bowls, Netball, Rugby Sevens, Shooting, Squash, Table Tennis, Tennis, Weightlifting and Wrestling.

Apart from these sports, 15 events will be contested across four Para-Sports codes, for elite athletes with a disability, on the inclusive sports programme. These are Athletics, Swimming, Powerlifting and Table Tennis.

Some of the household names in action across the different codes will be Roland Schoeman and Natalie Du Toit (aquatics), hard-hitting Lebogang Pilane (boxing) and Robbie Hunter (a previous stage winner of the Tour de France cycle race).

In the team sports, both the men’s and women’s hockey teams will be in action as will the men’s and women’s lawn bowls squads. Liezel Wium’s netball side will also travel to New Delhi.

Since their return to the Commonwealth, South Africa have never finished lower than 12th on the medals table. Their first Commonwealth Games after isolation were in Victoria, British Colombia where they won 11 medals to place 12th.

Since then they have been represented in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia (1998), Manchester (2002) and Melbourne (2006).

In Melbourne they were fifth on the medals table, winning a total of 38 medals (12 gold, 13 silver and 13 bronze) and finishing behind Australia, England, India and Canada.
South Africa’s gold medals came from swimming (five), track and field (five) and one each from boxing and shooting.

In the pool, Roland Schoeman was South Africa’s star, winning three gold medals and a bronze. And Natalie Du Toit was also right up there, earning two gold medals in the pool.

New Delhi won the right to host the 2010 Games by defeating the Canadian city of Hamilton by 46 votes to 22 at the Commonwealth Games Federation General Assembly held in Montego Bay, Jamaica in November 2003.

South Africans have already had a taste of the Commonwealth Games experience this year, with the Queen’s Baton Relay touching down in South Africa and taking in a successful whirlwind tour of the country before it continued its journey from Buckingham Palace, England to New Delhi.

The South African team of athletes and officials that will do duty at the 19th Commonwealth Games in New Delhi, India between 3-14 October:

Aquatics: Wendy Trott, Heerden Herman, Chad le Clos, Gideon Louw, Mark Randall, Roland Schoeman, Riaan Schoeman, Darian Townsend, Cameron van der Burgh. Para Swim: Natalie Du Toit

Archery: Jorina Coetzee, Nico Benade, Septimus Cilliers, Jacobus de Wet. Manager/coach: Barbara Manning

Boxing: Papish Baloyi, Siphiwe Lusizi, Masana Manganyi, Lebogang Pilane. Manager: Peter Armstrong. Coach: Nkosinathi Hlatshwayo

Cycling: Robyn de Groot, Ashleigh Moolman, Anriette Schoeman, Carla Swart, Cherise Taylor, Marissa van der Merwe, Dean Edwards, Robert Hunter, Daryl Impey, Darren Lill, Jay Thompson, Christoff van Heerden, Jaco Venter. Manager/coach: Barry Austin. Coach: George Cornelissen. Mechanic: Melvin Claassen

Gymnastics: Ashleigh Heldsinger, Jennifer Khwela, Sibongile Mjekula. Manager/coach: Julie Adamson-Schurmann. Coach: Tatiana Lavrentchouk

Hockey (women): Tarryn Bright, Dirkie Chamberlain, Lisa-Marie Deetliefs, Farah Fredericks, Lesle-Ann George, Kim Hubach, Marcelle Keet, Kelly Madsen, Vuyisanani Mangisa, Marsha Marescia, Mariette Rix, Lenise Marais, Kathleen Taylor, Nicolene Terblanche, Roxanne Turner, Jennifer Wilson. Manager: Luntu Ntloko. Coach: Giles Bonnett. Assistant coach: Fabian Gregory.

Hockey (men): Brendan Botes, Gareth Carr, Tim Drummond, Ian Haley, Rhett Halkett, Thomas Hammond, Marvin Harper, Julian Hykes, Lance Louw, Lloyd Madsen, Lloyd Norris-Jones, Wade Paton, Taine Paton, Erasmus Pieterse, Justin Reid-Ross, Austin Smith. Manager: Anton van Rooyen. Coach: Gregg Clark. Assistant coach: David Viney.

Lawn bowls: Tracy-Lee Botha, Helen Grundlingh, Susan Nel, Colleen Piketh, Brunhilda Roussouw, Susanna Steyn, Shaun Addinall, Gerry Baker, Bobby Donnelly, Johan du Plessis, Wayne Perry, Gideon Vermeulen. Manager: Ron Weddell. Coach: Theunis Fraser. Coach: Jessica Henderson

Netball: Chrisna Botha, Erin Burger, Zukelwa Cwaba, Sindisiwe Gumede, Maryke Holtzhausen, Christene Markgraaf, Zanele Mdodane, Nthabiseng Moabi, Precious Mthembu, Amanda Mynhardt, Liezel Wium, Leigh-Ann Zackey. Manager: Marchelle Maroun. Coach: Carin Strauss. Assistant coach: Cecilia Molokwane

Shooting: Tielman Breedt, Martin Davis, Petrus Haasbroek. Coaches: Jacob de Beer and Robert Thompson

Table Tennis: Luke Abrahams, Theo Cogill, Kurt Lingeveldt, Itumeleng Molahloe, Shane Overmeyer. Manager/coach: Sameera Maal. Coach: Marcus Gustafsson

Wheelchair Table Tennis: Aletta Moll

Weightlifting: Babalwa Ndleleni, Mona Pretorius, Portia Vries. Manager/coach: Aveenash Pandoo

Wrestling: Sonja Coetzee, Brumilda Leeuw, Mpho Madi, Zumicke Geringer, Richard Addinall, Heinrich Barnes, Bella-Lufa Hughes, Marius Loots, Gerald Meyer, Andries Schutte, Etienne van Huyssteen, Carlo van Wyk, Dean van Zyl. Manager: Sakkie Bosse. Coach: Nico Coetzee

Medical team
Chief Medical Officer: Shuiab Manjra. Doctors: Demitri Constantinou, Jo-Anne Kirby

Chief Physiotherapist: Caren Fleishman. Physiotherapists: Megan Dutton, Tamlyn Guest, Grace Hughes, Fikile Phasha, Tanushree Pillay, Sandhya Silal, Edwin Bodha, Nhlanhla Maphanga, David van Wyk