Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Top grapplers head for Cairo

Thirty-five of the South African wrestling’s top young talent left for a sweltering Cairo, Egypt to compete in the African Cadets Championships later this week.

It is a first for many of these youngsters in the international arena. Estiaan Fourie and Leona Williams will defend their 2009 African titles while 2010 Commonwealth champion, Terry van Rensburg will aim to add an African title to his wrestling portfolio.

Other international medal winners that take part are: Bokang Masunyane, Rudolf Vermeulen, Elandre Beukes, Pieter Coetzee and Charlene Peacock, African and Commonwealth Champion Andries Schutte.

A further 11 wrestlers will also take part in a tournament to qualify for the Youth Olympic Games.

The squad:

Freestyle Men’s Africa Cadets
39-42kg: Cohen Williams (EP), 42-46kg: Estiaan Fourie (Gauteng North), 46-50kg: Bokang Masunyane (GN), 50-54kg: Rudolf Vermeulen (Mpumalanga, 54-58kg: Elandre Beukes (GN), 58-63kg: Terry van Rensburg (Limpopo),  63-69kg: Hardu Nel (GN), 69-76kg Christo Labuschagne (GN), 85-100kg: Johan de Villiers  (Western Province). Coaches: Christo Lottering, Jan Combrinck

Greco-Roman Mans Africa Cadets
39-42kg: Barco Badenhorst (GN), 42-46kg: Klein-Jan Combrinck (KwaZulu-Natal), 46-50kg: Ruan Rossouw (WP), 50-54kg: Jeandre Blumental (Central Gauteng), 54-58kg: Eshwin Klaasen (WP), 58-63kg: Terry van Rensburg (Lim), 63-69kg: Zander Geringer (Mpu), 69-76kg: Ju-An Gregory (Gauteng North, 76-85kg: Boboe Brown (KZN) 85-100kg: KZN, 85-100kg: Pieter Coetzee (GN). Coach: Corrie vd Walt

Female Africa Cadets
43-46kg: Simone Button (Northern Free State), 46-49kg: Juanita Olivier (NFS), 52-56kg: Chane Fee (Gauteng East), 60-65kg: Levona Williams (WP). Coach: Monine Smith

Youth Olympic Games (qualifying tournament)

42kg Greco-Roman: Hein Clinton (WP), 46kg freestyle: Ivan Smith (CG), 50kg Greco-Roman: Marco Coetzee (Gauteng East), 54kg freestyle: Alex Borman (GN), 58kg Greco-Roman: Leonardo Gregory (GN), 63kg freestyle: Shane Goosen (GN), 69kg Greco-Roman: JJ Murray (Gauteng East), 76kg freestyle: JJ Murray (Gauteng East), 76kg freestyle: Johannes Redelinghuys (Gauteng East), 85kg Greco-Roman: Reghardt Coetzee (GN), 100kg freestyle: Andries Schutte (Mpu)
52kg: Michelle Snyman(Lim), 70kg: Levona WIlliams (WP)
Head coach: Nico Coetzee, Christo Lottering (freestyle), Monine SMith (Female), Team manager: Irene Schutte (Mpu)