Bouwer lights up PE with world record

Mzansi’s best are back in full force with a new world record and two additional qualification times for the World University Games as swimming resumed at the SA National... Read more

Mzansi’s best are back in full force with a new world record and two additional qualification times for the World University Games as swimming resumed at the SA National Aquatic Championships in Port Elizabeth.

Shattering the S13 200m freestyle world record by over five seconds was SA’s Charl Bouwer, touching the wall in a fast 1:56.78, beating the previous mark of 2:02.12 held by Greece’s Charalampos Taiganidis since 2006.

Trudi Maree (26.09) and Lehesta Kemp (26.18) confirmed their World University Games qualification times in the 50m freestyle final tonight, while Jessica Ashley-Cooper also added her name to the selection list with her silver medal performance of 26.11.

Finishing with the bronze medal in the 50m backstroke, Ricky Ellis’ 56.34 was the exact time required for selection to the World University Games, while the gold medal went to Gerhard Zandberg in 55.17 and the silver to Darren Murray in 55.84.

Winning double on the night was KZN’s Chad le Clos. Le Clos claimed the gold in the 200m freestyle, clocking a fast 1:48.63 ahead of Myles Brown in 1:49.46 and Calvyn Justus 1:51.39. Later on in the evening, Le Clos bagged the silver medal in the 50m butterfly with a time of 23.72 behind Roland Schoeman who finished in 23.11. The bronze in that event was taken home by Nico Meyer in 24.64.

In the 100m breaststroke, Jarred Crous was victorious in a time of 1:03.07; Giulio Zorzi grabbed the silver in 1:03.39 and Jared Pike the bronze in 1:04.05.

On the ladies side, Tara Nicholas, Michelle Wessels and Nina Hess made up the 100m breaststroke medal podium in 1:09.99, 1:14.32 and 1:18.02 respectively, while the 200m individual medley title went to Marlies Ross in 2:18.57, followed by Rene Warnes in 2:18.68 and Jolandi Els in 2:20.97.

Vanessa Mohr walked away with the gold medal in the 100m butterfly, topping the event in 1:00.82, with Marne Erasmus in second in 1:00.99 and Rene Warnes in third in 1:02.38.

In the multi-disability races, Cornel Loubser (1:08.63), Sarah Walker (1:09.21) and Yvonne Smith (1:19.72) made up the 100m butterfly S14-S15 category wins, with Smith also claiming the gold in the 50m breaststroke later on in the evening.

In the S1-S13 100m butterfly, Adri Visser finished first ahead of Dimakatso Makgakga and Tezna Abrahams. Abrahams and Makgakga scored double in their final race of the evening, the 50m breaststroke.

On the men’s side, the 100m butterfly S14-S15 category win went to Ethan Paulse in 1:04.38, followed by Craig Groenewald in 1:04.93 and Challis Wright in 1:08.40. Groenewald and Wright also finished second and third in the 50m breaststroke finals in 34.01 and 35.31 respectively.

The S1-S13 50m breaststroke winner was Kevin Paul with a time of 30.35

In the 4 x 50m freestyle relay, Lehesta Kemp, Vanessa Mohr, Karin Prinsloo and Kayla Ferreira won the race in 1:46.89, while Gerhard Zandberg, Douglas Erasmus, Ryan Coetzee and Nico Meyer claimed the gold on the men’s side in 1:30.71.

Friday’s heats start at 9.30am while the finals will begin at 5pm.

FINA World Championships Qualifying Times:

SF ÔÇô Semi-Final

Cameron van der Burgh ÔÇô 100m breaststroke (SF)

World University Games Qualifying Times:

Caitlin Kat ÔÇô 400m freestyle

Roxan Tammadge ÔÇô 400m freestyle

Myles Brown ÔÇô 400m freestyle

Lehesta Kemp ÔÇô 50m freestyle

Trudi Maree ÔÇô 50m freestyle

Rene Warnes ÔÇô 200m individual medley

Nico Meyer ÔÇô 50m butterfly

Giulio Zorzi ÔÇô 50m butterfly

Jessica Ashley-Cooper ÔÇô 50m freestyle

Ricky Ellis – 100m backstroke

Article written by