Skip to content Skip to footer

Commonwealth Games

First held in 1930, the Commonwealth Games draw athletes from the Commonwealth of Nations, former territories of the British Empire. They were first known as the Empire Games until becoming the Commonwealth Games in 1978. South Africa was banned from the Games from the 1964 to 1990 stagings due to the country’s apartheid policy.