Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Hockey men jet off

The bulk of the South African men’s hockey team jet off for Japan on Thursday with one mission in mind, to clinch the last remaining berth available at the London 2012 Olympic Games.

The final Olympic Qualifier Tournament takes place at Kakamigahara in Japan from 25 April to 6 May, where head coach Gregg Clark’s side have to win the gold medal for South Africa to qualify for the 29 July-14 August Olympic Games.

And while the contingent leaving from Johannesburg will arrive at their tournament base in Kakamigahara on Friday, the overseas-based players will only arrive later as they have European club commitments to fulfil this weekend.

SA captain Austin Smith and Rhett Halkett are at Den Bosch in Holland, Justin Reid-Ross and Lloyd Madsen play for Pinoke in Amsterdam; Belgium clubs enjoy the services of Clinton Panther, Taine Paton (both Gantoise) and Jonty Robinson (Braxgata), while Ian Haley plays for Exeter in England.

Although the SA team last played in late February, when they beat Austria ÔÇô one of their opponents in Japan ÔÇô the home-based and overseas players have been working hard to ensure they will be in peak condition.

ÔÇ£We won the bronze medal at the Champions Challenge in Randburg in early December, beating higher-ranked Argentina in that play-off match, we have drawn a series against world number four Great Britain in Cape Town and Stellenbosch, beaten Austria, and beat India in India for the first time ever in the series in New Delhi earlier this year,ÔÇØ said Clark. ÔÇ£The majority of our matches have been against higher-ranked opponents and this ambitious team, which I have described as the golden generation, is ready for the challenge in Japan.ÔÇØ

Top-ranked South Africa (world number 12), hosts Japan (15th), China (17th), Austria (21st), Czech Republic (23rd) and Brazil (42nd) will be tussling for the last remaining ticket to London.


26 April: vs Brazil (11.30am SA time); 28 April: vs Czech Republic (3am SA time); 30 April: vs China (11.30am SA time); 2 May: vs Japan (9am SA time); 4 May: vs Austria (11.30am SA time); 6 May: Classification matches (5/6 places); (3/4 places); final (8am SA time).


Austin Smith (capt), Andrew Cronje, Lloyd Norris-Jones, Ian Haley (all Western Province); Wade Paton, Lloyd Madsen, Tim Drummond, Marvin Harper, Taine Paton (all KZN Coastal Raiders); Rassie Pieterse, Michael Smith, Lance Louw, Thornton McDade, Clint Panther (all Southern Gauteng); Jonty Robinson, Rhett Halkett, Justin Reid-Ross (all Northern Blues); Julian Hykes (Amatole-Border). Head coach: Gregg Clark. Assistant coach: Kurt Cerfontyne. Manager: Anton van Rooyen. Assistant manager: Mo Malebye. Physio: Kate-Lyn Temple-Jones.