Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Jordaan wins race for SAFA presidency

Former SAFA Vice-President and 2010 FIFA World Cup CEO, Dr Danny Jordaan is the new SAFA President after winning the race for the top seat over fellow contender Mandla ‘Shoes’ Mazibuko.

It was an overwhelming majority victory for Dr Jordaan who polled 162 votes to Mazibuko’s 88.

The elections were conducted by the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) and were also monitored by members from FIFA and continental soccer body, CAF and SASCOC.

Once the results were announced, the Congress venue burst into song and dance, celebrating the 62-year old’s ascendancy to one of the country’s most demanding jobs. Jordaan takes over from Kirsten Nematandani who did not contest the race.

Dr Jordaan, who sought the mandate on the promise to improve Bafana Bafana’s overall performance, youth development, strengthening women football as well as strengthening the Association’s financial standing, said he was excited and was looking forward to deliver on his mandate.

The Vice-Presidents positions went to Chief Mwelo Nonkonyana who garnered 197 votes, Lucas Nhlapo (173) and Elvis Shishana who got 167 votes. The other Vice-President of the Association is Premier Soccer League chairman, Dr Irvin Khoza.

Mazibuko magnanimously withdrew his candidature for the Vice-President’s position while former NEC member, Alpha Mchunu (95) and Victor Ramathesele (76) did not garner enough votes.

The 10 National List members of the National Executive Committee are: Mr Gladwin White, Mr Kwenzakwakhe Ngwenya, Ms Nomsa Mahlangu, Mr Poobalan Govindasamy, Mr Xolile Nkompela, Mr Truman Prince, Ms Ria Ledwaba, Mr Aubrey Baartman, Advocate Norman Arendse and Ms Anastasia Tsichlas.

The Members of the Provincial List are: Abel Rakoma and Jack Maluleka (Limpopo), Anthony Reeves and William Mooka (Gauteng), David ‘Brains’ Zulu and Gay Mokoena (Mpumalanga), Mzwandile Maforvane and Michael Mogorosi (Free State), Monde Montshiwa and Paseka Nkone (North West), Velaphi Kubeka and Simphiwe Xaba (Kwazulu-Natal), Gerald Don and Mlungisi Bushwana (Western Cape), Mzimkhulu Ndlelo and Mzimkhulu Fina (Eastern Cape) and David Bantu and Peter Mantshonyane (Northern Cape).