Luan leads the way with 11 golds

Cape Town, Kimberley and Sasolburg produced a thrilling final day of the SA Level 2 Regional Age Group Swimming Championships on Monday evening. Western Province’s Luan Grobbelaar (11) once... Read more

Cape Town, Kimberley and Sasolburg produced a thrilling final day of the SA Level 2 Regional Age Group Swimming Championships on Monday evening.

Western Province’s Luan Grobbelaar (11) once again showed his spectacular form, winning the 50-metre freestyle, 200m breaststroke, 200m backstroke and 50m butterfly, bringing his tally to 11 gold medals at the end of the competition.

Barend Loftie-Eaton (12), Wynand Viljoen (13), Oliver Schuurmans (14), John Maree (15) and Bryn Williams (18) won their respective 50m freestyle races.

In the girls 50m freestyle, the gold medalists were Laiken Mattheys (11), Jamie Hattingh (12), Lauren Smith (13), Izell Westhuizen (14), Kristen Jordan (15) and Jessica White (16). Mattheys, Jordan, White and Westhuizen also won the 50m butterfly.

The 200m breaststroke final winners were Calvin Oliver (12), Dewan Bubb (13), Louw Jacobs (14), Dehan van Dyk (15), Philip Opperman (17), Hanim Abrahams (11), Jordan Bosman (12), Tarien Joubert (13), Gita Pera (14), Caitlin Sleet (15) and Danika Bader (16). Later on in the evening, Bader also grabbed the 200m backstroke gold.

Ricardo Silva (12), Ian Venter (13), Sky Beveridge (14), Bernard Theron (15) and Arno Pelser (17) claimed the 200m backstroke titles, while Rebecca Meder (10), Chloe Velde (12), Lisa-Nicole Scholtz (13), Sanchia Booth (14) and Jana Minnie (15) won on the girls’ side.

In the fast 50m butterfly, Jan-Hendrik Basson (12), Nabeel Sieed (13), Kuno Boettiger (14), Michael Litton (15), Jonathan Wanckel (16), Payton Horton (12) and Amber Manchest (13) claimed the gold in their respective categories.

The multi-disability events saw Morne van Dyk (12), Jean-Claude Smit (14), Jean Pretorius (16), Jamie du Toit (17), Ubina Julies (13) and Aviwe Jemane (15) win the 50m freestyle with Pretorius and Smit claiming an additional two gold medals in the 50m butterfly and 100m breaststroke.

At Kimberley’s Karin Muir Swimming Pool, the rising star of the competition was KZN’s 10-year-old Zoe Frank who, after breaking numerous age group records at the event, concluded with three more gold medals in the 50m freestyle, 200m backstroke and the 50m butterfly.

The first race of the evening was the 50m freestyle, which saw the gold medals going to Chase Rayment (11), Ethan de Witt (12), Reuben Abbott (13), Luc Schimper (14), Jeandre Petersen (15), Wiehann Kock (18), Jessica Reimers (12), Sabrina-Lee Filipe (13), Kimberley Swan (14), Leatitia Human (15) and Sasha Coetzee (17). De Witt, Petersen and Coetzee also bagged the 50m butterfly gold.

Matthew Holder (11), Aaron Jacoby (12), Matthew Bedderson (13), Kiaran Govender (14), Evan Weyermuller (15), Benno van Wyk (18), Chelaine vd Westhuizen (11), Elizabeth Pretorius (12), Carlene Taylor (13), Sue Pieterse (14), Chante Robinson (15) and Nicolette Ramshaw (18) collected the gold medals in the 200m breaststroke. Robinson also won the 200m backstroke.

In the 200m backstroke, Dylan Somerville (11), Stefan Visser (13), JJ Botha (14), Jakon Changfoot (15) and Etienne Erasmus (16) finished first on the boys’ side, while for the girls’ Leeann Masson (12), Nina Bohata (13), Lisa du Toit (14) and Megan Bates (16) took the gold.

In the hotly contested 50m butterfly, Luke Robinson (11), Juan Milne (13), Trent Dungey (14), Pieter du Preez (16), Samantha Smuts (12), Natasha Kleyn (13), Hanna McLean-Leonard (14) and Larah Binedell (15) swam to the gold in their respective age groups.

At Sasolburg’s Penny Heyns Swimming Pool, the boys’ 50m freestyle winners were Keagan Wood (11), Daniel Copeland (12), Rikard du Plessis (13), Tristan Marais (14), Emidio Cuna (15), Nicolaas Deacon (18), with Megan Grobler (11), Mariska Bam (12), Una Donnelly (13), Leigh-Ann Behrens (14), Caylin du Plessis (15) and Megan Toye (17) winning on the girls’ side. Wood and C du Plessis were out in front once again, in the 200m backstroke with Marais, Deacon and Toye taking the 50m butterfly.

In the 200m breaststroke, Shane Tucker (11), Matthew Gosling (12), Matthew Rose (13), Jared Wolf (14), Darren Britz (15) and Jordan Fisher (17) saw their way to the top of the medal podium, while Erin Graham (11), Cameron Kilgour (12), Taylor Andrew (13), Joe van Niekerk (14), Mieke Koen (15) and Melissa Hemmings (18) took the girls’ titles.

Heinrich Strydom (12), Dian de Wet (13), Juan Cloete (14), Robert Kruger (15), Shane Lotter (18), Jordan-Jenna Rolfe (11), Chilene Vorster (12), Cayleigh de Sousa (13), Jordyn Irvine (14) and Robyn Henderson (16) scooped the 200m backstroke gold. Later on in the evening, Vorster also secured the 50m butterfly gold.

The final event of the evening was the 50m butterfly where James Freeman (11), Maaz Khota (12), Kurt Kruger (13), Erich van Rooyen (15), Hollie Stander (11), Chante Rademan (13), Cerise Dingiswayo (14),

In the multi-disability events, Nkosi Dludlu (14), Sibanda Mduduzi (15), Caitlin Ogden (13), Cornell Loubser (18) were victorious in the 50m freestyle, while Mduduzi added the 100m breaststroke and 50m butterfly alongside Thulane Mabuza.

The next event Swimming South Africa will be hosting is the SA Level 1 Regional Age Group Championships, which are to be held in Pretoria, Newcastle and Oudtshoorn from 5-7 April.

Article written by