Paralympic medallists boost SA side for IPC World Championships | TeamSA - TeamSA

Paralympic medallists boost SA side for IPC World Championships


All the Rio Paralympic medallists are included in the South African team to compete at the IPC World Para-Athletics Championships in London from 14-23 July.

There are also six World Championship debutants in the 23-strong team, which will have a management/coaching/medical squad of eight to look after all the athletes’ needs.

While the nation will keep an expectant eye on the debutants, there may also be a few tear-filled eyes as stalwarts Arnu Fourie and Ilse Hayes compete in their final competition.

Track runners Fourie and Hayes took part in four and three Paralympic Games respectively.

Both are coached by Suzanne Ferreira in Stellenbosch and she’s once again part of the coaching set-up.

The six debutants are Hermanus Blom, Maria Combrink, Ntando Mahlangu, Dineo Mokhosoa, Sheldon Thomas and Ruhan van Rooyen.

Veteran of the team is Zanele Situ, who will be attending her sixth Paralympics after making her debut in Sydney, Australia, in 2000.

Situ is in fine form right now. Coached by Karin le Roux, who is also part of the SA team for London, she’s just back from Europe where she set a new personal best and national javelin record of 18m in the F54 event.

The full team is: Blom, Dyan Buis, Louzanne Coetzee, Khothatso Mokone (guide), Combrink, Andrea Dalle Ave, Charl du Toit, Arnu Fourie, Liezel Gouws, Reinhardt Hamman, Ilse Hayes, Hilton Langenhoven, Mpumelelo Mhlongo, Anrune Liebenberg, Mahlangu, Mokhosoa, Kerwin Noemdo, Jonathan Ntutu, Tyrone Pillay, Thataone Union Sekailwe, Zanele Situ, Thomas, Van Rooyen

Team management
Cornelia Swanepoel (manager), Neels Matthyser (official), Daniel Damon (coach), Raymond Julius (coach), Suzanne Ferreira (coach), Karin le Roux (coach), Narayani Pillay (physio), Khuliso Netshivhangani (physio)

Picture of Paralympic medallists courtesy of Wessel Oosthuizen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *