Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

SA take on Finland

The South African Tennis Association have announced that Rik de Voest, Wesley Moodie, Raven Klaasen and Izak van der Merwe will be the four players who will take on Finland in a second round tie at Groenkloof Tennis Stadium, Pretoria from 7-9 May with John-Laffnie de Jager as captain.

South Africa is in Group One (Europe/Africa) together with Austria, Slovak Republic, Netherlands, Belarus, Italy, Finland, Poland, Ukraine, Latvia and Romania.

South Africa will be without Kevin Anderson, who has been in good form and is currently ranked 114, and doubles player Jeff Coetzee. Neither are available due to scheduling issues as they are trying to bolster their respective rankings ahead of the French Open next month.

“It is disappointing that Kevin is not available,ÔÇØ said De Jager. ÔÇ£He is our No 1 player and a key member of the team.

ÔÇ£I am very happy that the rest of the guys are playing. Rik won a challenger two weeks ago and is getting his confidence back in singles.ÔÇØ

Admission for Groenkloof will be R50 on the Friday and Sunday which involves singles competition and R40 for Saturday’s doubles. Tickets are available from Computicket and are unreserved.

Meanwhile South Africa will be represented by Chanel Simmonds, Christi Potgieter, Natasha Fourouclas and Kelly Anderson with Greer Leo Smith as captain in the women’s Fed Cup 2010 Group 11 (Europe/Africa) clash.

Play takes place in Yerevan, Armenia from 28 April ÔÇô 1 May.

There are eight nations participating in this group: Armenia, Finland, Georgia, Greece, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Norway and South Africa.

The two winning nations will be promoted to Europe/Africa Zone Group I whilst the bottom two losing nations will be relegated to Europe/Africa Zone Group III.