Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

SA players look to impress against Olympic champions

The big South Africa men’s hockey squad will be looking both individually and as combinations to convince head coach Fabian Gregory that they are worth a place in the 18-player national team to take on reigning Olympic Games champions Germany in a three-Test series at Hartleyvale, Cape Town from Wednesday evening.

Before the fixtures the squad took part in a two-day training camp, reports Jon Cook.

The first and second Tests between 12th ranked South Africa and the world’s second best side are at 7pm on Wednesday and Friday, with the third Test match scheduled for Saturday at 4pm.

Due to injury, work and overseas club commitments there are several players who are not in Cape Town for either the camp or the series.

The SA side to take on Germany will only be announced on Wednesday; this after Gregory has had a good look at the players during the training sessions. Pictured right is ace shot-stopper Rassie Pieterse.

The new coach has an idea of the fitness and form of those players who did duty against Argentina in Mar del Plata last week. The players in Cape Town from outside that group have had to hit the ground running in their bids to convince Gregory of a spot in the team.

Those not picked to face the formidable Germans will remain in Cape Town for the duration of the series and will have separate training sessions during that time.

Picture: Rodrigo Jaramillo

Goalkeepers: Rassie Pieterse (Southern Gauteng), Gowan Jones (KZN Coastal Raiders), Jacques le Roux (Western Province)
Defenders: Andrew Cronje (WP), Lloyd Madsen (Southern Gauteng), Matt Guise-Brown (Northern Blues), Robin Jones (KZN Inland), Dylan Swanepoel (WP), Mohamed Mea (KZN Coastal Raiders), Lance Louw (Southern Gauteng), Jethro Eustice (Southern Gauteng), Daniel Bell (WP), Francois Pretorius (Northern Blues)
Midfielders: Owen Mvimbi (Southern Gauteng), Wade Paton (WP), Nick Gonsalves (Southern Gauteng), Tim Drummond (KZN Coastal Raiders), Chad Cairncross (Eastern Province), Clive Terwin (WP), Cuan Burton-Moore (WP), Taylor Dart (Southern Gauteng), Craig Haley (WP)
Strikers: Pierre de Voux (WP), Ignatuis Malgraff (EP), Damian Kimfley (EP), Nick Spooner (Southern Gauteng), Winchester Scott (EP), Geowynne Gamiet (EP), Lungi Tsolekile (WP), Brandon Panther (Southern Gauteng), Dan Sibbald (KZN Coastal Raiders), Matt Botha (WP), Lloyd Norris-Jones (WP), Keenan Horne (WP)