Schoenmaker is first female qualifier for FINA world champs | TeamSA - TeamSA

Schoenmaker is first female qualifier for FINA world champs


It took five days of action, but finally South Africa’s women have come to the party at the national aquatic championships in Durban in the shape of Tatjana Schoenmaker.

TukSport’s Shoemaker became the first female to qualify for the FNA World Championships in Budapest, Hungary, later this year.

Western Cape’s Rebecca Meder and the talented youngsters of Mzansi continued to impress, while Schoenmaker, Douglas Erasmus and Brad Tandy also added their names to the FINA World Championships team on day five of the King’s Park action.

Twenty-three up and coming swimmers have already made the FINA Junior World Championships qualification list, and with one more day of action to go that number is sure to grow.

Meder (14) bagged her fourth Junior qualifying time in the 800m freestyle, clocking a fast 8min 49.49sec, while Kate Beavon and Rebecca’s older sister Abi Meder raced to their second qualification times, finishing second and third in 8:54.77 and 8:58.46, respectively.

Schoenmaker (19) topped the 200m breaststroke semi-finals in 2:25.23, while Chad le Clos celebrated his third qualification time in the 100m butterfly semi-finals in 51.56. The finals for both events will take place on Saturday.

Kaylene Corbett and Christin Mundell also gained their second Junior qualification times in the breaststroke semi-final with wins in 2:30.76 and 2:33.03, to the required 2:35.20.

Brad Tandy during day five’s evening session of the SA National Aquatic Championships in Durban

In the fast-paced 50m freestyle semi-finals, Tandy and Erasmus were on top of the world as they pencilled their names on the FINA World Championships qualification list in 21.99 and 22.39 respectively.

Fourteen-year-old Dune Coetzee was on point in the 200m butterfly, adding her third Junior qualifying time by winning the race in 2:14.14, followed by Nathania van Niekerk in 2:18.72 and Marli Jacobs in 2:20.16, while the 100m freestyle gold was claimed by Zane Waddell in 49.09, with 18-year-old Ryen van Wyk adding his name to the FINA Junior World Championships list with a qualification time of 52.15 to the 52.33 requirement.

It was gold for Luan Grobbelaar (15) in the 200m individual medley with a FINA Junior World Championships qualification time of 2:06.00 ahead of Andrew Brown in 2:07.66 and Damian Mullen in 2:08.06, while Mariella Venter confirmed her qualification in the 200m backstroke, winning the race in 2:13.40. Kiara Noades added her name to the list with a bronze medal time of 2:17.99.

There were five FINA Junior World Championships qualifying times in the men’s 200m breaststroke semi-final, with fast times from Daniel Swanepoel (2:16.38), Duncan Rudolph (2:17.43), Michael Houlie (2:18.64), Bailey Musgrave (2:19.08) and newly added Likith Prema (2:20.58).

Martin Binedell and Neil Fair will be looking for fast times in Saturday evening’s 200m backstroke final after they finished tonight’s semi-finals in 2:00.00 and 2:02.71, while Inge Weidemann and Gabi Grobler were happy with their FINA Junior World Championships qualification times in the 100m freestyle semi-finals in 57.65 and 57.99, respectively.

In the 50m butterfly semi-finals, Erin Gallagher’s quick 27.77 put her in the pole position for tomorrow’s final ahead of Emma Chelius in 28.13 and Grobler in 28.43.

In the multi-disability races, Pierre Dellieu continued to showcase his talents, winning the S14-15 50m backstroke in 29.31 and the 100m freestyle  in a Deaf Olympics qualification time of 54.92, with the S1-13 backstroke category gold going to Franco Smit in 31.54, and the freestyle to Paralympian Hendri Herbst in a World Para Swimming Championships qualification time of 1:01.37.

The top place in the women’s S14-15 backstroke went to Cornell Loubser in 34.53, while Kristen Henry won the S1-13 event in 40.30.

Christelle Kriel (S14) added yet another gold medal to her tally, this time in the 100m freestyle in 1:08.79, while Alani Ferreira won the S1-13 in 1:10.38.

The staging of this event has been made possible through the support provided by Swimming SA partners, Sport and Recreation South Africa, SASCOC, National Lotteries Commission, Arena and Rand Water.

Pictures courtesy of Anesh Debiky

Qualifying Times following Friday’s day five action

17th FINA World Championships (eight qualifying times so far):
Cameron van der Burgh – 100m breaststroke – 59.73
Chad le Clos – 200m freestyle – 1:46.84, 200m butterfly – 1:55.00, 100m butterfly (SF) – 51.56
Myles Brown – 200m freestyle – 1:47.55
Tatjana Schoenmaker – 200m breaststroke (SF) – 2:25.23
Brad Tandy – 50m freestyle (SF) – 21.99
Douglas Erasmus – 50m freestyle (SF) – 22.39

6th FINA Junior World Swimming Championships (42 qualifying times so far):
Dune Coetzee – 100m butterfly – 1:01.04, 200m freestyle  – 2:03.90, 200m butterfly – 2:14.14
Kate Beavon – 200m freestyle  – 2:03.13, 800m freestyle – 8:54.77
Jarryd Baxter – 400m freestyle – 3:51.85, 200m freestyle – 1:50.45
Chad Michau – 800m freestyle – 8:22.99
Timothy Sates – 200m freestyle (SF) – 1:52.94
Rebecca Meder – 200m individual medley – 2:16.24, 1500m freestyle – 16.49.77, 200m freestyle – 2:02.94, 800m freestyle – 8:49.49
Jenna Pearse – 200m freestyle (SF) – 2:05.89
Abi Meder – 1500m freestyle – 17:08.15, 800m freestyle – 8:58.46
Gabi Grobler – 200m individual medley – 2:19.83, 200m freestyle (SF) – 2:05.64, 100m freestyle (SF) – 57.99
Christin Mundell – 200m individual medley (SF) – 2:20.51, 100m breaststroke (SF) – 1:11.56, 200m breaststroke (SF) – 2:33.03
Michael Houlie – 100m breaststroke – 1:03.20, 200m breaststroke (SF) – 2:18.64
Daniel Swanepoel – 100m breaststroke -1:03.07, 200m breaststroke (SF) – 2:16.38
Bryce Skea– 100m breaststroke -1:03.07
Duncan Rudolph– 100m breaststroke (SF) -1:03.36, 200m breaststroke (SF) – 2:17.43
Bailey Musgrave– 100m breaststroke (SF) -1:03.56, 200m breaststroke (SF) – 2:19.08
Kaylene Corbett – 100m breaststroke – 1:09.46, 200m breaststroke (SF) – 2:30.76.
Hanim Abrahams – 100m breaststroke – 1:11.18
Mariella Venter – 100m backstroke – 1:01.53, 200m backstroke – 2:13.40
Inge Weidemann – 50m freestyle – 26.26, 100m freestyle (SF) – 57.65
Ryen van Wyk – 100m freestyle – 52.15
Likith Prema – 200m breaststroke (SF) – 2:20.58
Luan Grobbelaar – 200m individual medley – 2:06.00
Kiara Noades – 200m backstroke – 2:17.99

Deaf Olympics Qualifiers (12 qualifying times so far):
Cornell Loubser – 50, 100 and 200m butterfly
Mark Roach – 50m butterfly and 50m freestyle
Pierre Dellieu – 50 and 100m freestyle
Credence Pattinson – 100 and 400m freestyle, 50, 100 and 200m backstroke

World Para Swimming Qualifiers (14 qualifying times so far):
Hendri Herbst S11 – 50 and 100m freestyle
Johann van Heerden SB9 – 100m breaststroke
David Klopper S2 – 100m backstroke
Christian Sadie S7, SB7, SM7  – 50m butterfly, 50 and 100m freestyle and 100m breaststroke
Franco Smit S12 – 50 and 100m freestyle and 100m backstroke
Alani Ferreira S13 – 400m freestyle & 100m breaststroke
Christelle Kriel S14 – 100m butterfly

*SF – Semi-Final

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *