Paul posts world record

Paralympian Kevin Paul posted a world record while Cameron van Der Burgh became the latest swimmer to post an Olympic A Qualifying time at the SA Swimming Championships and... Read more

Paralympian Kevin Paul posted a world record while Cameron van Der Burgh became the latest swimmer to post an Olympic A Qualifying time at the SA Swimming Championships and Olympic trials in Durban on Tuesday night.

Paul celebrated his world record breaking time of 1min 05.94sec in the SB9 100m┬á breaststroke, a time just 0.02sec off the previous 2010 mark of 1:05.96 held by Russia’s Pavel Poltavtsev. Paul’s time is also a Paralympic A Qualifying Time.

Van der Burgh turned up the tempo as he posted his qualifying time in the final of the 100m breaststroke. Van der Burgh sprinted to the finish line with an Olympic A qualifying time of 59.90 ahead of Neil Versfeld in 1:00.99 and Giulio Zorzi in 1:02.61.

Chad le Clos bagged his second Olympic A qualifying time when he edged out Darian Townsend in the 200m freestyle semi-finals.┬áLe Clos touched the wall in 1:47.20 to Townsend’s 1:48.26. The final of the event will be held on Wednesday evening.

Charl Crous became the third swimmer of the night to add his name to the list of Olympic A qualifiers when he won the 100m backstroke semi-final in 54.19 ahead of team-mate Darren Murray in 54.96. The final of this event will take place on Wedensday evening.

Teenager Vanessa Mohr, certainly a star of the future, scooped gold in a tight 100m butterfly race with a time of 59.72, just one second short of the qualification time, while Mandy Loots came second in 59.81 and Marne Erasmus in third in 1:00.84. Mohr now looks to have missed out the Games but at her age she has many Olympics to remain inspired for.

In the 400m freestyle, Wendy Trott claimed the gold medal in 4:12.86 ahead of Michelle Weber in 4:15.91 and Jessica Pengelly in 4:16.35. Trott will be racing her favorite 800m freestyle event at Sunday’s final day of the competition.

In the 100m backstroke semi-finals, Karin Prinsloo bettered her heats time when she clocked 1:01.15 to book her place in Wednesday’s final, while Suzaan van Biljon sped to the finish in the 100m breaststroke semi-finals in 1:08.60, also securing her place in the final.

Three Paralympic A Qualifying times were added to the list when Craig Groenewald and Challis Wright posted 1:14.80 and 1:16.02 in the SB14 100m breaststroke race, while Tadhg Slattery (SB5) made the time in 1:40.70.

Yvonne Smith (SB14) better her heats time by over two seconds when she touched the wall with a Paralympic A Qualification time of 1:32.43. Natalie du Toit (SB8), Renette Bloem (SB11) and Marike Naude (SB13) all met the Paralympic qualification requirement with 1:29.84, 1:39.06 and 1:41.27 respectively.

Olympic A Qualifying Times following day two:
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Chad le Clos ÔÇô 400m individual medley ÔÇô 4:13.86
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Le Clos ÔÇô 200m freestyle (SF) ÔÇô 1:47.20
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Cameron van der Burgh ÔÇô 100m breaststroke ÔÇô 59.90
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Riaan Schoeman ÔÇô 400m individual medley ÔÇô 4:15.60
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Heerden Herman ÔÇô 400m freestyle ÔÇô 3:48.57
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Kathryn Meaklim ÔÇô 400m individual medley – 4:37.70
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Charl Crous ÔÇô 100m backstroke (SF) ÔÇô 54.19
Paralympic A Qualifying Times following Day 02:
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Charl Bouwer (S13) ÔÇô 100m backstroke – 59.78
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Charl Bouwer (S13) ÔÇô 400m freestyle – 4:13.93
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Hendri Herbst (S11) ÔÇô 100m backstroke – 1:18.98
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Hendri Herbst (S11) ÔÇô 400m freestyle ÔÇô 4:58.75
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Shireen Sapiro (S10) ÔÇô 100m backstroke – 1:10.70
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Natalie du Toit (S9) ÔÇô 100m backstroke – 1:14.78
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Natalie du Toit (SB8) ÔÇô 100m breaststroke ÔÇô 1:29.84
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Emily Gray (S10) – 100m backstroke – 1:16.88
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Tadhg Slattery (SB5) – 100m breaststroke -1:40.70
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Hendrik van der Merwe (SB5) – 100m breaststroke -1:43.84
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Challis Wright (SB14) ÔÇô 100m breaststroke ÔÇô 1:16.02
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Craig Groenewald (SB14) ÔÇô 100m breaststroke ÔÇô 1:14.80
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Yvonne Smith (SB14) ÔÇô 100m breaststroke ÔÇô 1:32.43
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Renette Bloem (SB11) ÔÇô 100m breaststroke ÔÇô 1:39.06
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Marike Naude (SB13) ÔÇô 100m breaststroke ÔÇô 1:41.27
┬À┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á┬á Kevin Paul (SB9) ÔÇô 100m breaststroke ÔÇô 1:05.94 (world record)

Article written by