SA youth squad named

A team of 41 athletes has been announced to represent South Africa at the 2011 Commonwealth Youth Games on the Isle of Man later this year. The names of... Read more

A team of 41 athletes has been announced to represent South Africa at the 2011 Commonwealth Youth Games on the Isle of Man later this year.

The names of the rugby sevens squad will be added on July 28, on completion of that code’s final training camp.

The 2011 Commonwealth Youth Games, the fourth edition of these Games, will run from 7-13 September.

South Africa will be represented in all seven sporting codes to be contested at the Games, these being aquatics, athletics, badminton, boxing, cycling, gymnastics and sevens rugby. Boxing will be the first sporting code to be contested at these Games, with that discipline starting on 8 September.

Athletics and swimming forms the bulk of the squad with 17 and 14 representatives respectively. Among the athletes will be newly crowned World Youth Championships 110m hurdles champion Andries van der Merwe, along with three other medallists Morne Moolman, Albert Janki and Gerhard de Beer.

All competitors in the Commonwealth Youth Games must be aged a minimum of 14 and maximum of 18 in the year of competition (that is their 18th birthday is during the calendar year in which the Games is held).

The inaugural Commonwealth Youth Games were held in Edinburgh, Scotland in 2000 and a total of 733 athletes from 14 countries took part in eight sporting codes over a period of three days.

The second and third Commonwealth Youth Games were held in Bendigo, Australia and Pune, India in 2004 and 2008 respectively.

The next Commonwealth Youth Games will be held in Samoa in 2015.

At the last Games in Pune, where 71 countries were represented, South Africa ended fourth on the medals table with a total of 30 medals (seven gold, 14 silver and nine bronze). Host nation India topped the table with 76 medals, Australia were second (65) and England third (41).

Team South Africa will be made up of the following members:

Aquatics: Christopher vd Sande, Hendrik Alberts, Zahir Gamiet, Martin Vogel, Luke Pendock, Kurt Benjamin, Itumeleng Lesenyeho, Marne Erasmus, Kelly Gunnell, Michelle Weber, Justine Macfarlane, Tiffany Combrinck, Sharne Dicks. Coach Douglas Eager, Brenton Meth. Manager Nellie Silent
Athletics: Andries vd Merwe, Tiaan Smit, Jacob Tseko, Katleo Dyoyi, Constant Pretorius, Christiaan Mouton, Jan-Louw Kotze, Gerhard de Beer, Morne Moolman, Ruan Combrinck, Bradley Britz, Seargel Petersen, Pieter Conradie, Willem van Schalkwyk, Albert Janki, Sabelo Ndlovu, Izelle Neuhoff. Manager: James Mokoka. Coach Maidi Mogashoa, Jacobus Boshoff
Badminton: Jennifer van den Berg, Elme de Villiers, Andries Malan, Prakash Vijayanath. Manager/Coach Chantal Botts
Boxing: Sikho Nqothole, Jabulani Makhense, Nyiko Ndukula. Manager/coach Petrus Prinsloo. Coach Mthethunzima Dumezweni
Cycling: Jayde Julius, Emile Jacobs, James Fourie. Mechanic Abongile Mazula. Manager Elton Davids
Gymnastics: Kirsten Beckett. Manager/coach Shirley Watson
Rugby Sevens names to be announced in late July

Medical team: Chief medical doctor Jo-Anne Kirby. Chief physiotherapist Neil Viranna. Physiotherapists: Eira Hadebe, Myranda Symons, Evah Ramashala
General Team Management: Chef de Mission Ruth Saunders. Project Manager Jean Kelly. Logistics Clifford Cobers, Dumisani Mtwa. Athlete Services Joanne Myers

Article written by