Four post Games times

Four of our athletes achieved the Olympic A-standard qualifying time at Saturday’s Yellow Pages meeting in Potchefstroom. This was the second meeting in the series and sprinters Simon Magakwe,... Read more

Four of our athletes achieved the Olympic A-standard qualifying time at Saturday’s Yellow Pages meeting in Potchefstroom.

This was the second meeting in the series and sprinters Simon Magakwe, Thuso Mpuang and Lebogang Moeng all reached the standard in the men’s 200-metre with Tsholofelo Thipe doing the same in the women’s race.

Obviously the sprinters all had the benefit of running at altitude and will still have to achieve the qualifying standard at an international meeting but it was a great stride in the right direction. And it wasn’t the only excitement in perfect weather conditions as the women’s SA triple jump record was broken again, this time by Patience Ntshingila.

The 200m men’s heat set the scene for what was to come, as Simon Magakwe became the first athlete to reach the Olympic A-standard time of 20.55sec when he won his heat in 20.43sec.┬áThuso Mpuang, who finished second in the heat just missed out on qualifying, was clocked at 20.58sec.

If the heats set the scene, then the final delivered the icing on the cake. Magakwe won the race in 20.38sec with Mpuang and Lebogang Moeng both pulled under the 20.55sec qualifying standard. Mpuang finished in 20.50sec while Moeng clocked 20.51sec. Mpuang was one of the athletes in the 4x100m relay team in Daegu at the World Championships in 2011.

Not to be outdone, Tsholofelo Thipe shattered the A-Qualifying Standard of 23.10sec and set a massive new personal best when she clocked 22.89sec in the final of the 200m for women.┬á Thipe just missed qualifying in the heats when the clock stopped at 23.11sec, just 0.01sec off the pace.┬áThipe’s previous best time was set three years ago in Germiston when she finished second at a Yellow Pages meeting in 23.28sec.┬áJustine Palframan crossed the line in 23.22sec ahead of Tjipekapora Herunga from Namibia (23.55sec).

Earlier this year Charlene Potgieter broke Charmain Barnard’s 10 year-old SA record in the women’s triple jump while Ntshingila had to settle for second place. On Saturday the role’s were reveresed as Ntshingila leapt 13.89m, 28cm further than the previous record of Potgieter.
Potgieter had leaps of 13.77m (tailwind of 2.1m/sec) and 13.70m (-0.3m/sec).

Rorisang Rammonye won the women’s 400m in Stellenbosch on Tuesday, setting a new best time of 51.98sec just short of the 51.55sec Olympic Qualifying A-Standard.┬á On Saturday she won the race again, edging closer to the qualifying time.┬áShe dominated the race and crossed the line in 51.61sec, with Sonja van der Merwe second in 53.66sec.┬áBotswana athlete Lydia Mashila was third (54.46sec).

Sunette Viljoen lead throughout the entire competition in the women’s javelin throw, but Jarmila Klimesova’s (CZE) 60.96m in the final round was enough for the win.┬áViljoen attempted the 61m Olympic Qualifying A-standard in front of her home crowd, but had to be satisfied with 59.30m.┬áKlimesova’s compatriot Irena Sediva finished ahead of Gerlize de Klerk with her best attempt measured at 54.61m.┬áDe Klerk’s best was 54.28m.

Former SA Youth champion Morne Moolman, entered the junior ranks in 2012 and immediately made an impact as he finished third in the men’s senior javelin throw dominated by the two Czech athletes Vitezslav Vesely and Jakub Vadlejeh.┬áVesely won the competition with an 81.72m attempt while Vadejeh finished second (80.40sec).┬áMoolman’s best attempt was measured at 75.08m.

In the 800m for men 2009 world champion Mbulaeni Mulaudzi won in 1:46.41 ahead of Thapelo Madiba (1:46.92) and Daniel Nghipandulwa from Namibia who finished in 1:48.24 while Caster Semenya won the same race for women in 2:03.60.  Mapaseka Makhanya, who has been aiming for a 2:03-2:04, finished second in 2:04.89 with Lebo Phalula in third (2:05.58).

Article written by